Bill Status of HB3119  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Ann M. Williams, Wayne A Rosenthal, Kam Buckner, Joyce Mason, Terra Costa Howard, Kevin John Olickal, Janet Yang Rohr, Lilian Jiménez, La Shawn K. Ford, Anne Stava-Murray, Daniel Didech, Carol Ammons and Diane Blair-Sherlock

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  3/27/2023HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
20 ILCS 3855/1-10
30 ILCS 105/5.992 new
220 ILCS 75/10
220 ILCS 75/15
220 ILCS 75/20
415 ILCS 5/3.121 new
415 ILCS 5/3.132 new
415 ILCS 5/3.133 new
415 ILCS 5/3.134 new
415 ILCS 5/3.136 new
415 ILCS 5/3.446 new
415 ILCS 5/3.447 new
415 ILCS 5/9.19 new
415 ILCS 5/9.20 new
415 ILCS 5/21from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1021
415 ILCS 5/22.63 new
415 ILCS 5/39from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1039
415 ILCS 5/40from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1040

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Carbon Dioxide Transport and Storage Protections Act. Provides that a sequestration operator may not exercise any authority to take or acquire any easement or title to any pore space or any portion of an area of review pursuant to the Eminent Domain Act. Provides that the sequestration operator is solely liable for any and all damage caused by the carbon dioxide transported to the sequestration facility for injection or sequestration, or otherwise under the sequestration operator's control, including damage caused by carbon dioxide released from the sequestration facility, regardless of who holds title to the carbon dioxide, the pore space, or the surface estate. Provides that in addition to any permit fees required by the Environmental Protection Act, sequestration operators and pipeline operators who transport or sequester carbon dioxide in the State must pay a fee each year to the State for deposit in the Carbon Transportation and Sequestration Readiness Fund established by this Act. Creates the Carbon Transportation and Sequestration Readiness Fund and makes a corresponding change to the State Finance Act. Provides for: training for carbon dioxide emergencies for emergency responders, medical personnel, residents, businesses, and other local entities. Makes a corresponding change to the Illinois Power Agency Act and the Public Utilities Act. Amends the Environmental Protection Act. Provides for: setbacks from carbon dioxide pipelines; permitting required for carbon dioxide capture; prohibition of conducting any carbon sequestration operation without a permit; and permitting required for carbon sequestration. Provides that if the Environmental Protection agency grants or denies a permit for capture of carbon dioxide or a permit for sequestration of carbon dioxide, any person may petition the Pollution Control Board within 35 days from the date of issuance of the Agency's decision for a hearing to contest the decision of the Agency. Makes other changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/16/2023HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/17/2023HouseFirst Reading
  2/17/2023HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/28/2023HouseAssigned to Energy & Environment Committee
  3/7/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Wayne A Rosenthal
  3/7/2023HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Energy & Environment Committee; 019-010-000
  3/8/2023HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/8/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kam Buckner
  3/20/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  3/20/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  3/20/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin John Olickal
  3/22/2023HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/22/2023HouseHeld on Calendar Order of Second Reading - Short Debate
  3/23/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar
  3/23/2023HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar
  3/23/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  3/23/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lilian Jiménez
  3/27/2023HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/28/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  4/11/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  4/26/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  5/3/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  5/3/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Diane Blair-Sherlock