Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5816
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5816  99th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. John D. Anthony - Tim Butler - John M. Cabello - Brian W. Stewart - Edward J. Acevedo, Norine K. Hammond, Avery Bourne, Dan Brady, Ed Sullivan, Randy E. Frese, Joe Sosnowski, David R. Leitch, Sheri Jesiel, Sara Wojcicki Jimenez, Michael D. Unes, John C. D'Amico, Silvana Tabares, Martin J. Moylan, Brandon W. Phelps and Jerry Costello, II

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2017HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
5 ILCS 140/7from Ch. 116, par. 207

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Public Safety Officer Privacy Act. Prohibits a person, business, association, or government agency from publicly posting or displaying the personal information of a public safety officer 5 days after the receipt of an officer's written request to not post or display the personal information. Allows for injunctive or declaratory relief for violations. Prohibits a person, business, or association from soliciting, selling, or trading on the Internet a public safety officer's personal information with the intent to pose an imminent and serious threat to the health and safety of the public safety officer or the officer's immediate family. Amends the Freedom of Information Act. Excludes personal information of a public safety officer covered by the Public Safety Officer Privacy Act from being included as a public record under the Freedom of Information Act, and from inspection or copying under the Act.

DateChamber Action
  2/11/2016HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. John D. Anthony
  2/11/2016HouseFirst Reading
  2/11/2016HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/3/2016HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Butler
  3/3/2016HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. John M. Cabello
  3/3/2016HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Brian W. Stewart
  3/3/2016HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Edward J. Acevedo
  3/3/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  3/3/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Avery Bourne
  3/3/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  3/3/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ed Sullivan
  3/4/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Randy E. Frese
  3/4/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  3/4/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David R. Leitch
  3/4/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sheri Jesiel
  3/4/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sara Wojcicki Jimenez
  3/9/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael D. Unes
  3/23/2016HouseAssigned to Judiciary - Criminal Committee
  4/4/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John C. D'Amico
  4/6/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Silvana Tabares
  4/6/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  4/6/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  4/6/2016HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry Costello, II
  4/8/2016HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/10/2017HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top