Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4425
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4425  98th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch - Sam Yingling, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Frances Ann Hurley, Kathleen Willis, Kelly Burke, Robyn Gabel, Laura Fine, Elgie R. Sims, Jr., La Shawn K. Ford, David McSweeney, Linda Chapa LaVia, Ron Sandack, Jeanne M Ives, Darlene J. Senger, Thomas Morrison, Mary E. Flowers, Arthur Turner, Derrick Smith, William Davis, Jack D. Franks, Barbara Flynn Currie, John D'Amico, Michael J. Zalewski, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Ed Sullivan, Jr., Silvana Tabares, Scott Drury, Jay Hoffman, Michelle Mussman and Marcus C. Evans, Jr.

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  12/3/2014HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
60 ILCS 1/27-5
60 ILCS 1/27-10
60 ILCS 1/27-10.5 new
60 ILCS 1/27-15
60 ILCS 1/27-20
60 ILCS 1/27-25
70 ILCS 905/25

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Township Code. Provides that a township that: (1) is within a coterminous, or substantially coterminous, village; (2) is located within a county with a population of 3 million or more; and (3) contains a territory of more than 2 and less than 3 square miles shall be eligible to discontinue and abolish a township organization within a coterminous municipality. Amends the Public Health District Act. Provides that the coterminous municipality that assumes the rights, powers, duties, and obligations of a discontinued coterminous township shall have the municipality's Council members or corporate authorities serve as the board of health for the public health district under the Act.

House Committee Amendment No. 1
Replaces everything after the enacting clause. Reinserts the provisions of the introduced bill with the following change: Provides that the question of dissolving the township organization shall be submitted to the voters of the township upon adoption of an ordinance by the board of trustees of the township (instead of upon adoption of an ordinance by the corporate authorities of the coterminous village).

DateChamber Action
  1/29/2014HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  1/29/2014HouseFirst Reading
  1/29/2014HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/30/2014HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  3/6/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  3/6/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  3/6/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  3/6/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly Burke
  3/6/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  3/6/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Fine
  3/19/2014HouseAssigned to Counties & Townships Committee
  3/20/2014HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  3/20/2014HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elgie R. Sims, Jr.
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David McSweeney
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ron Sandack
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeanne M Ives
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Darlene J. Senger
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Morrison
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Arthur Turner
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Derrick Smith
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John D'Amico
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  3/20/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ed Sullivan, Jr.
  3/21/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Silvana Tabares
  3/21/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Scott Drury
  3/21/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  3/24/2014HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Counties & Townships Committee
  3/24/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  3/24/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  3/25/2014HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Adopted in Counties & Townships Committee; by Voice Vote
  3/25/2014HouseRemains in Counties & Townships Committee
  3/28/2014HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  12/3/2014HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top