Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB3727
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB3727  98th General Assembly

Short Description:  PROP TX-FALLING EAV

House Sponsors
Rep. Ron Sandack - Sandra M. Pihos - Ed Sullivan, Jr. - Darlene J. Senger - Thomas Morrison, David McSweeney, Patricia R. Bellock, Dennis M. Reboletti, Kay Hatcher and Michael P. McAuliffe

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  12/3/2014HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 200/18-185
35 ILCS 200/18-205

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Property Tax Extension Limitation Law in the Property Tax Code. Provides that, if the total equalized assessed value of all taxable property in the taxing district for the current levy year (excluding new property, recovered tax increment value, and property that is annexed to or disconnected from the taxing district in the current levy year) is less than the total equalized assessed value of all taxable property in the taxing district for the previous levy year, then the extension limitation is (a) 0% or (b) the rate of increase approved by voters (instead of the lesser of 5% or the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index during the 12-month calendar year preceding the levy year or (b) the rate of increase approved by voters). Provides that a referendum to increase the extension limitation may not be conducted at a general primary or a consolidated primary election. Provides that certain supplemental information must be provided on the referendum ballot. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  10/28/2013HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Ron Sandack
  10/30/2013HouseFirst Reading
  10/30/2013HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  11/4/2013HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra M. Pihos
  1/29/2014HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Ed Sullivan, Jr.
  5/7/2014HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Darlene J. Senger
  5/7/2014HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Morrison
  5/7/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David McSweeney
  5/7/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
  5/7/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dennis M. Reboletti
  5/7/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kay Hatcher
  5/8/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  12/3/2014HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top