Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB3640
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB3640  98th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Tom Cross - Adam Brown - Dwight Kay - Sandra M. Pihos - Michael W. Tryon, Rich Brauer, Robert W. Pritchard, Bill Mitchell, Kay Hatcher, C.D. Davidsmeyer, Barbara Wheeler, Wayne Rosenthal, Dan Brady, Darlene J. Senger, Ron Sandack, Josh Harms, Mike Bost, John M. Cabello, Joe Sosnowski, Raymond Poe, Jil Tracy, Chad Hays, Charles E. Meier, Keith P. Sommer and Timothy L. Schmitz

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  12/3/2014HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 5/201from Ch. 120, par. 2-201

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Income Tax Act. Creates a credit for an individual taxpayer who is the principal provider of financial aid to an eligible student, other than the eligible student himself or herself, in an amount equal to 25% of the qualified education expenses paid by the taxpayer on behalf of that eligible student during the taxable year, but not to exceed $1,000 in any one taxable year. Provides that the term "eligible student" means a full-time or part-time student enrolled in an accredited institution of higher education in the State. Provides that a taxpayer is not eligible for the credit if the taxpayer's adjusted gross income exceeds $150,000. Provides that the credit is exempt from the Act's automatic sunset provisions. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  6/12/2013HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Tom Cross
  6/12/2013HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Adam Brown
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael W. Tryon
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rich Brauer
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kay Hatcher
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. C.D. Davidsmeyer
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Wheeler
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Wayne Rosenthal
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Darlene J. Senger
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ron Sandack
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Josh Harms
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Bost
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John M. Cabello
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Dwight Kay
  6/12/2013HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Dwight Kay
  6/12/2013HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra M. Pihos
  6/13/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  6/13/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jil Tracy
  6/13/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chad Hays
  6/13/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles E. Meier
  6/14/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith P. Sommer
  6/14/2013HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Timothy L. Schmitz
  6/19/2013HouseFirst Reading
  6/19/2013HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  6/25/2013HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael W. Tryon
  6/25/2013HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael W. Tryon
  12/3/2014HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top