Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5806
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5806  96th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Darlene J. Senger - Sidney H. Mathias - Renée Kosel - Elizabeth Coulson - Michael W. Tryon, William B. Black, Raymond Poe, Jim Sacia, Mike Bost, Robert W. Pritchard, JoAnn D. Osmond, Rich Brauer, Michael P. McAuliffe, Bob Biggins, Roger L. Eddy, Patricia R. Bellock, Robert F. Flider and Sandra M. Pihos

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/11/2011HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 5/704from Ch. 120, par. 7-704
35 ILCS 10/5-16 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Economic Development for a Growing Economy Tax Credit Act. Provides that an applicant who has been awarded a Credit under the Act may, in the applicant's sole discretion, opt to retain taxes withheld under the Illinois Income Tax Act in lieu of an income tax credit. Provides that the amount of withheld taxes retained by the applicant in a taxable year may not exceed the amount of the Credit awarded by the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity for that taxable year. Provides that each employee whose taxes were withheld by an employer who retains amounts under this subsection must receive credit for 100% of the taxes withheld from his or her pay. Requires the Department to report annually to the Governor and the General Assembly on the progress of the incentive payment program. Amends the Illinois Income Tax Act to make corresponding changes concerning tax withholding. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/10/2010HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Darlene J. Senger
  2/10/2010HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sidney H. Mathias
  2/10/2010HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Renée Kosel
  2/10/2010HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Coulson
  2/10/2010HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael W. Tryon
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. William B. Black
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Jim Sacia
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Mike Bost
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. JoAnn D. Osmond
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Rich Brauer
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Bob Biggins
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Roger L. Eddy
  2/10/2010HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
  2/10/2010HouseFirst Reading
  2/10/2010HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/2/2010HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  3/15/2010HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  5/4/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert F. Flider
  5/25/2010HouseMotion Filed to Discharge Rules Committee Rep. William B. Black
  5/25/2010HouseObjects to Motion Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie
  5/25/2010HouseChair Rules Motion Lost
  5/25/2010HouseMotion Discharge Committee Lost
  5/25/2010HouseAppeal Ruling of Chair Rep. William B. Black
  5/25/2010HouseShall the Chair be Sustained
  5/25/2010HouseMotion to Sustain the Chair - Prevailed 068-048-000
  6/3/2010HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra M. Pihos
  1/11/2011HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top