Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0273
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0273  95th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Ronald A. Wait - Roger L. Eddy - Mike Boland - Jack McGuire, Lisa M. Dugan, Charles E. Jefferson, Raymond Poe, Linda Chapa LaVia, Patrick J Verschoore, Rich Brauer, Thomas Holbrook and Mike Fortner

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. John M. Sullivan)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2009HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
815 ILCS 370/4.2 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Motor Fuel and Petroleum Standards Act. Provides that, on and after January 1, 2008, any gasoline sold or offered for sale in this State for use in motor vehicles must contain a minimum of 10% ethanol, by volume, with specified exceptions. Effective January 1, 2008.

House Committee Amendment No. 1
Deletes reference to:
815 ILCS 370/4.2 new
Adds reference to:
815 ILCS 370/4.1from Ch. 5, par. 1704.1

Replaces everything after the enacting clause. Amends the Motor Fuel and Petroleum Standards Act. Removes language requiring a label to be placed on the retail motor fuel dispensing device for motor fuel containing at least 2% by volume of the methanol derivative methyl tertiary butyl ether (MTBE). Requires that biodiesel and biodiesel blends be identified by the capital letter "B" followed by the numerical value representing the volume percentage of biodiesel fuel. Provides requirements for a label that must be located on the retail motor fuel dispensing device concerning biodiesel and biodiesel blend fuels. Provides that devices used to dispense only motor fuels that contain a total of 5% or less by volume of biodiesel need not be labeled. Effective July 1, 2008.

DateChamber Action
  1/12/2007HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Ronald A. Wait
  1/19/2007HouseFirst Reading
  1/19/2007HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/25/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Roger L. Eddy
  1/31/2007HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  2/7/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Boland
  2/7/2007HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack McGuire
  2/8/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lisa M. Dugan
  2/23/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles E. Jefferson
  3/6/2007HouseRe-assigned to Ethanol Production Oversight Committee
  3/13/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  3/20/2007HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Ethanol Production Oversight Committee
  3/20/2007HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Adopted in Ethanol Production Oversight Committee; by Voice Vote
  3/20/2007HouseDo Pass as Amended / Short Debate Ethanol Production Oversight Committee; 006-000-000
  3/21/2007HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/22/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  3/22/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick J Verschoore
  3/22/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rich Brauer
  4/16/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Holbrook
  4/17/2007HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/17/2007HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  4/19/2007HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Fortner
  4/19/2007HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 116-000-000
  4/20/2007SenateArrive in Senate
  4/20/2007SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading April 24, 2007
  5/28/2007SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Kirk W. Dillard
  5/29/2007SenateFirst Reading
  5/29/2007SenateReferred to Rules
  5/30/2007SenateAlternate Chief Sponsor Changed to Sen. John M. Sullivan
  5/15/2008SenateRule 2-10 Committee Deadline Established As May 22, 2008; Substantive House Bills Out of Committee
  1/13/2009HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top