Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0827
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0827  94th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. James D. Brosnahan - Kevin A. McCarthy - Kevin Joyce - Richard T. Bradley - Dan Reitz, Paul D. Froehlich, Robert F. Flider, Daniel V. Beiser, Patricia Bailey, Annazette Collins, John E. Bradley, Brandon W. Phelps, Karen A. Yarbrough, Eddie Washington and John D'Amico

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
815 ILCS 505/2Zfrom Ch. 121 1/2, par. 262Z

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Wireless Telephone Users Consumer Protection Act. Requires wireless telephone service providers to provide the terms of a plan or contract for wireless telephone service and other specified information to consumers before any service is offered and to include the information in a publication and advertising. Provides requirements for extension, modification, or rescission of wireless telephone service contracts. Provides for enforcement by the Illinois Commerce Commission. Allows the Attorney General and State's Attorneys to bring a civil action and obtain injunctive relief to enforce the provisions of the Act. Amends the Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act to make a violation of the Wireless Telephone Users Consumer Protection Act an unlawful practice within the meaning of the Act. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/2/2005HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. James D. Brosnahan
  2/2/2005HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin A. McCarthy
  2/2/2005HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin Joyce
  2/2/2005HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Richard T. Bradley
  2/2/2005HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Reitz
  2/2/2005HouseFirst Reading
  2/2/2005HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/3/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul D. Froehlich
  2/8/2005HouseAssigned to Consumer Protection Committee
  2/10/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert F. Flider
  2/16/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
  2/17/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia Bailey
  2/17/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Annazette Collins
  2/24/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John E. Bradley
  2/24/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  3/7/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen A. Yarbrough
  3/8/2005HouseMotion Do Pass - Lost Consumer Protection Committee; 004-006-001
  3/8/2005HouseRemains in Consumer Protection Committee
  3/10/2005HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/16/2005HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Eddie Washington
  3/16/2005HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. John D'Amico
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top