Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0744
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0744  94th General Assembly

Short Description:  SAFE ROUTES TO SCHOOL

House Sponsors
Rep. Ronald A. Wait - Sidney H. Mathias - Elaine Nekritz - Roger Jenisch - Sandra M. Pihos, Michael Tryon, Roger L. Eddy, Kathleen A. Ryg, Karen May, Naomi D. Jakobsson and Maria Antonia Berrios

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Iris Y. Martinez - Richard J. Winkel, Jr. - Miguel del Valle - Jacqueline Y. Collins, Debbie DeFrancesco Halvorson, Christine Radogno, Martin A. Sandoval, James F. Clayborne, Jr., Terry Link, Ira I. Silverstein and Mattie Hunter)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  8/8/2005HousePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 94-0493

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
20 ILCS 2705/2705-317 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Department of Transportation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois. Provides that, upon enactment of a federal transportation bill with a dedicated fund available to states for safe routes for schools, the Department of Transportation shall, in cooperation with the State Board of Education and the Department of State Police, establish and administer a Safe Routes to School Construction Program for the construction of bicycle and pedestrian safety and traffic-calming projects, with construction grants being made available to local governmental agencies. Effective immediately.

House Committee Amendment No. 1
Adds proximity to parks and other recreational facilities as a factor that Safe Routes to School proposals for funding are to be rated on.

DateChamber Action
  2/1/2005HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Ronald A. Wait
  2/1/2005HouseFirst Reading
  2/1/2005HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/3/2005HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sidney H. Mathias
  2/8/2005HouseAssigned to Transportation and Motor Vehicles Committee
  2/16/2005HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Transportation and Motor Vehicles Committee
  2/16/2005HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Adopted in Transportation and Motor Vehicles Committee; by Voice Vote
  2/16/2005HouseDo Pass as Amended / Short Debate Transportation and Motor Vehicles Committee; 027-000-000
  2/17/2005HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  2/17/2005HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elaine Nekritz
  2/18/2005HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  2/18/2005HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  2/23/2005HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Roger Jenisch
  2/24/2005HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra M. Pihos
  2/24/2005HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 114-000-000
  2/24/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Tryon
  2/24/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Roger L. Eddy
  2/24/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen A. Ryg
  2/24/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen May
  2/24/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Naomi D. Jakobsson
  2/25/2005SenateArrive in Senate
  2/25/2005SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  3/1/2005SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Iris Y. Martinez
  3/1/2005SenateFirst Reading
  3/1/2005SenateReferred to Rules
  3/2/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Richard J. Winkel, Jr.
  3/2/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Miguel del Valle
  3/2/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Jacqueline Y. Collins
  3/2/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Debbie DeFrancesco Halvorson
  3/9/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Christine Radogno
  3/9/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Martin A. Sandoval
  3/10/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maria Antonia Berrios
  4/13/2005SenateAssigned to Transportation
  4/20/2005SenatePostponed - Transportation
  5/4/2005SenateDo Pass Transportation; 008-000-000
  5/4/2005SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading May 5, 2005
  5/5/2005SenateSecond Reading
  5/5/2005SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading May 10, 2005
  5/11/2005SenateThird Reading - Passed; 058-000-000
  5/11/2005HousePassed Both Houses
  5/28/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. James F. Clayborne, Jr.
  5/28/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Terry Link
  5/28/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Ira I. Silverstein
  5/29/2005SenateAdded as Alternate Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  6/9/2005HouseSent to the Governor
  8/8/2005HouseGovernor Approved
  8/8/2005HouseEffective Date August 8, 2005
  8/8/2005HousePublic Act . . . . . . . . . 94-0493

Back To Top