Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5868
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5868  94th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Carolyn H. Krause - Tom Cross - William B. Black - Sandra M. Pihos - Renee Kosel, Suzanne Bassi, Robert W. Pritchard, JoAnn D. Osmond, Jerry L. Mitchell, Mike Bost, Raymond Poe, Randall M. Hultgren, Jim Watson, Patricia R. Bellock, Donald L. Moffitt, James H. Meyer, Michael Tryon, Brent Hassert, Jil Tracy and David R. Leitch

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
220 ILCS 5/16-111.4 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Electric Service Customer Choice and Rate Relief Law of 1997 in the Public Utilities Act. Creates the Illinois Residential Rate Relief Act. Requires an electric utility, based on the number of residential customers, to provide a rate phase-in plan to residential customers for the period subsequent to the mandatory transition period. Provides that unrecovered costs of purchasing power and energy to serve residential customers during the period between January 2, 2007 and December 31, 2009 may be deferred for future recovery. Provides that the deferred amounts shall be recovered over a 3-year period beginning in calendar year 2010 and ending in calendar year 2012 for those customers who are part of the rate phase-in plan. Requires electric utilities, based on the number of residential customers, to contribute money toward energy efficiency programs, the purchase of renewable energy, assistance for senior citizens, and bill assistance to low-income customers. Provides that an electric utilities may not increase the electric rates, defer costs, or charge interest to residential customers that were customers prior to July 1, 2006, of all electric home service. Provides that residential customers of all electric home service shall be eligible for the rate phase-in plans beginning in calendar year 2008. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  11/28/2006HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Carolyn H. Krause
  11/28/2006HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Cross
  11/28/2006HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. William B. Black
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra M. Pihos
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Renee Kosel
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne Bassi
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. JoAnn D. Osmond
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry L. Mitchell
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Bost
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Randall M. Hultgren
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Watson
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Donald L. Moffitt
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. James H. Meyer
  11/28/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Tryon
  11/28/2006HouseMotion Filed to Discharge Committee Rep. Carolyn H. Krause
  11/29/2006HouseFirst Reading
  11/29/2006HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  11/30/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brent Hassert
  11/30/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jil Tracy
  11/30/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David R. Leitch
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top