Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4107
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4107  94th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Bill Mitchell - Charles E. Jefferson - Michelle Chavez, Patrick J Verschoore, Gary Hannig, Kathleen A. Ryg, Annazette Collins, Robin Kelly, Deborah L. Graham, William Delgado, Cynthia Soto, Daniel J. Burke and Susana A Mendoza

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
815 ILCS 505/2Zfrom Ch. 121 1/2, par. 262Z
815 ILCS 505/10afrom Ch. 121 1/2, par. 270a

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Consumer Protection Fuel Price Gouging Act. Provides that, upon a declaration of disaster by the Governor, it is unlawful for any motor-fuel vendor to sell or offer to sell motor fuel within the State at a price that is increased because of the vendor's knowledge of a perceived disruption in the motor-fuel market. An increase in the price of motor fuel during the period of a disaster declaration is rebuttably presumed to be based upon the vendor's knowledge of a perceived disruption in the motor-fuel market if: (1) the amount charged represents a gross disparity between the price at which the motor fuel was readily obtainable within the vendor's trade area during the 7 days immediately before the disaster declaration; and (2) the increase in the amount charged is not attributable to cost factors to the vendor, including replacement costs, taxes, and transportation costs incurred by the vendor. Provides that a violation of this Act constitutes a violation of the Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act, but nothing in this Act creates a private cause of action in favor of any person damaged by a violation of this Act, but individuals may complain to the Attorney General. Preempts home rule. Amends the Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act to make corresponding changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  9/12/2005HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Bill Mitchell
  10/19/2005HouseFirst Reading
  10/19/2005HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  10/26/2005HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles E. Jefferson
  10/26/2005HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Chavez
  10/27/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick J Verschoore
  10/27/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gary Hannig
  10/27/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen A. Ryg
  10/27/2005HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Annazette Collins
  1/20/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robin Kelly
  1/25/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deborah L. Graham
  5/4/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Delgado
  5/4/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cynthia Soto
  5/4/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel J. Burke
  5/4/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Susana A Mendoza
  1/9/2007HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top