Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB0982
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of SB0982  103rd General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. John J. Cullerton - Omar Aquino - Patricia Van Pelt - Iris Y. Martinez - Bill Cunningham, Heather A. Steans, Kimberly A. Lightford, Antonio Muñoz, Cristina Castro, Mattie Hunter, Don Harmon, Ira I. Silverstein, Kwame Raoul, Jacqueline Y. Collins, Laura M. Murphy, Melinda Bush, David Koehler, Martin A. Sandoval, Emil Jones, III, Michael E. Hastings and Pat McGuire

House Sponsors
(Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr. - Silvana Tabares - Lou Lang, Lawrence Walsh, Jr., Daniel J. Burke, Thaddeus Jones, Martin J. Moylan, Theresa Mah, Kelly M. Burke, Linda Chapa LaVia, Elaine Nekritz, Laura Fine, Frances Ann Hurley, Fred Crespo, Natalie A. Manley, Luis Arroyo, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Elgie R. Sims, Jr., Arthur Turner, Kelly M. Cassidy, Gregory Harris, Barbara Flynn Currie, Ann M. Williams, Robert Rita, Elizabeth Hernandez, Will Guzzardi, Sue Scherer, Deb Conroy, Juliana Stratton, Camille Y. Lilly, Cynthia Soto and Jehan Gordon-Booth)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/9/2019SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/21-1from Ch. 46, par. 21-1

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Provides that no candidate for President or Vice-President of the United States shall appear on the official ballot for the general election if that candidate has not released his or her tax returns at least 5 days prior to the date set for certification of the ballot for the general election. Defines "released his or her tax returns" to mean that the tax returns filed with the federal Internal Revenue Service for the 5 most recent years in which tax returns have been filed by the candidates for President and Vice-President of the United States have been filed with the Secretary of State. Requires the Secretary of State to post the tax returns on the Secretary of State's website and to certify that the tax returns have been filed to the State Board of Elections. Allows the Secretary of State to adopt rules to implement the provisions.

DateChamber Action
  2/7/2017SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Daniel Biss
  2/7/2017SenateFirst Reading
  2/7/2017SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/9/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Patricia Van Pelt
  2/9/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Iris Y. Martinez
  2/10/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Bill Cunningham
  2/14/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Heather A. Steans
  2/14/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Omar Aquino
  2/14/2017SenateSponsor Removed Sen. Omar Aquino
  2/15/2017SenateAssigned to Executive
  2/15/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford
  2/22/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John J. Cullerton
  3/1/2017SenateTo Subcommittee on Election Law
  3/2/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Antonio Muñoz
  3/2/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina Castro
  3/3/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  3/7/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Don Harmon
  3/8/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ira I. Silverstein
  3/15/2017SenateReported Back To Executive; 002-001-000
  3/16/2017SenateDo Pass Executive; 009-004-000
  3/16/2017SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 28, 2017
  3/16/2017SenateChief Sponsor Changed to Sen. Omar Aquino
  3/16/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Daniel Biss
  3/16/2017SenateSponsor Removed Sen. Daniel Biss
  3/28/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kwame Raoul
  3/30/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jacqueline Y. Collins
  3/30/2017SenateSecond Reading
  3/30/2017SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading April 4, 2017
  3/31/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  4/4/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Melinda Bush
  4/5/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  4/5/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Martin A. Sandoval
  4/5/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Emil Jones, III
  4/5/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael E. Hastings
  4/5/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pat McGuire
  4/25/2017SenateChief Sponsor Changed to Sen. Daniel Biss
  4/25/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Omar Aquino
  4/25/2017SenateChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Sen. Omar Aquino
  4/27/2017SenateThird Reading - Passed; 032-019-000
  4/27/2017HouseArrived in House
  4/27/2017HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  4/27/2017HouseFirst Reading
  4/27/2017HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  5/9/2017HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  5/9/2017HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Silvana Tabares
  5/9/2017HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lou Lang
  5/9/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence Walsh, Jr.
  5/9/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel J. Burke
  5/9/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Thaddeus Jones
  5/9/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  5/9/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  5/9/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Burke
  5/10/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Elaine Nekritz
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Fine
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Fred Crespo
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Luis Arroyo
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Elgie R. Sims, Jr.
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Arthur Turner
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregory Harris
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  5/11/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Rita
  5/15/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  5/16/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  5/17/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  5/17/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  5/18/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Juliana Stratton
  5/19/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  5/19/2017HouseCommittee Deadline Extended-Rule 9(b) May 26, 2017
  5/22/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Cynthia Soto
  5/26/2017HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  5/26/2017HouseFinal Action Deadline Extended-9(b) May 31, 2017
  5/31/2017HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/6/2019SenateChief Sponsor Changed to Sen. John J. Cullerton
  1/9/2019SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top