Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4644
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB4644  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Abdelnasser Rashid - Maurice A. West, II, Dagmara Avelar, Will Guzzardi, Kevin John Olickal, Sharon Chung, Aaron M. Ortiz, Nabeela Syed, Sonya M. Harper, Hoan Huynh, Mary Beth Canty, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Diane Blair-Sherlock, Rita Mayfield, Anna Moeller, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Laura Faver Dias, Jenn Ladisch Douglass, Robert "Bob" Rita, Camille Y. Lilly, Barbara Hernandez, Kelly M. Cassidy, Norma Hernandez, Lilian Jiménez, Anne Stava-Murray, Maura Hirschauer, Yolonda Morris, Janet Yang Rohr, William "Will" Davis, Justin Slaughter, Michelle Mussman, Kam Buckner, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Kimberly Du Buclet, Harry Benton and Lindsey LaPointe

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  4/5/2024HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/29-21 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Provides that a person shall not distribute, or enter into an agreement with another person to distribute, materially deceptive media if: (1) the person knows the media falsely represents a depicted individual; (2) the distribution occurs within 90 days before an election; (3) the person intends the distribution to harm the reputation or electoral prospects of a candidate in an election and the distribution is reasonably likely to cause that result; and (4) the person intends the distribution to change the voting behavior of electors in an election by deceiving the electors into incorrectly believing that the depicted individual in fact engaged in the speech or conduct depicted, and the distribution is reasonably likely to cause that result. Sets forth exceptions to the provision and penalties for violations of the provision. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/31/2024HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Abdelnasser Rashid
  2/1/2024HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  2/6/2024HouseFirst Reading
  2/6/2024HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/14/2024HouseAssigned to Ethics & Elections
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin John Olickal
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sharon Chung
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nabeela Syed
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Hoan Huynh
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Beth Canty
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Diane Blair-Sherlock
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Faver Dias
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jenn Ladisch Douglass
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert "Bob" Rita
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norma Hernandez
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lilian Jiménez
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Yolonda Morris
  3/6/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William "Will" Davis
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kam Buckner
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kimberly Du Buclet
  3/7/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Harry Benton
  3/12/2024HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  4/5/2024HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee

Back To Top