Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB1397
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB1397  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy, Joyce Mason, Michelle Mussman, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Nabeela Syed, Kevin John Olickal, Terra Costa Howard, Barbara Hernandez, Dagmara Avelar, Ann M. Williams, Katie Stuart, Maura Hirschauer, Lilian Jiménez, Patrick Windhorst, Dan Ugaste, Jeff Keicher, Elizabeth "Lisa" Hernandez, Mary Beth Canty, Anne Stava-Murray, Matt Hanson, Gregg Johnson, Jenn Ladisch Douglass, Harry Benton, Sonya M. Harper, Diane Blair-Sherlock, Kam Buckner, Sharon Chung, Jonathan Carroll, Lindsey LaPointe and Kevin Schmidt

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Celina Villanueva)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  3/21/2023SenateReferred to Assignments

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
720 ILCS 5/11-0.1
720 ILCS 5/11-1.20was 720 ILCS 5/12-13
720 ILCS 5/11-1.50was 720 ILCS 5/12-15

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Criminal Code of 2012. In the Sex Offenses Article of the Code, defines "coercive control" as direct or implied threat of danger, or retribution sufficient to coerce a reasonable person of ordinary susceptibilities to perform an act that otherwise would not have been performed, or acquiesce in an act to which one otherwise would not have submitted. Provides that a person commits criminal sexual assault if that person commits an act of sexual penetration and uses coercive control. Provides that a person commits criminal sexual abuse if that person commits an act of sexual conduct by the use of coercive control.

House Floor Amendment No. 1
Provides that the penalty for criminal sexual abuse by committing an act of sexual conduct by the use of coercive control is a Class 4 felony.

DateChamber Action
  1/24/2023HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  1/26/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  1/31/2023HouseFirst Reading
  1/31/2023HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/7/2023HouseAssigned to Judiciary - Criminal Committee
  2/8/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  2/8/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  2/8/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nabeela Syed
  2/8/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin John Olickal
  2/8/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  2/8/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  2/8/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  2/9/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/9/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  2/9/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  2/27/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lilian Jiménez
  2/28/2023HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Judiciary - Criminal Committee; 015-000-000
  3/1/2023HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/6/2023HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/6/2023HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  3/7/2023HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Recommends Be Adopted - Referred to Floor
  3/7/2023HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Recommends Be Adopted Rules Committee; 005-000-000
  3/14/2023HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/14/2023HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Adopted
  3/14/2023HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/14/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  3/15/2023HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 113-000-000
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Ugaste
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth "Lisa" Hernandez
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Beth Canty
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Matt Hanson
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregg Johnson
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jenn Ladisch Douglass
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Harry Benton
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Diane Blair-Sherlock
  3/15/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kam Buckner
  3/16/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sharon Chung
  3/16/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  3/16/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  3/21/2023SenateArrive in Senate
  3/21/2023SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  3/21/2023SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Celina Villanueva
  3/21/2023SenateFirst Reading
  3/21/2023SenateReferred to Assignments
  4/27/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin Schmidt

Back To Top