Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB2497
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB2497  102nd General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Robert F. Martwick - Jacqueline Y. Collins - Omar Aquino - Mattie Hunter, Celina Villanueva, Mike Simmons, Cristina H. Pacione-Zayas, Laura Fine, Patrick J. Joyce, Christopher Belt, Adriane Johnson, John Connor, Karina Villa, Michael E. Hastings, Antonio Muñoz, Laura Ellman, Thomas Cullerton, Ram Villivalam, Robert Peters and Emil Jones, III

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/2A-1.2from Ch. 46, par. 2A-1.2
10 ILCS 5/2A-48from Ch. 46, par. 2A-48
105 ILCS 5/34-3from Ch. 122, par. 34-3
105 ILCS 5/34-4from Ch. 122, par. 34-4
105 ILCS 5/34-4.1 new
105 ILCS 5/34-4.2 new
105 ILCS 5/34-13.1
105 ILCS 5/34-21.9 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Provides for the election of the Chicago Board of Education at the general primary election in 2022 only as a nonpartisan election on a separate ballot. Provides that a member of the Chicago Board of Education shall be elected at each consolidated election thereafter. Makes related changes. Amends the Chicago School District Article of the School Code. Provides that a person shall be a U.S. citizen and registered voter and shall have been a resident of the city and the electoral district for at least one year immediately preceding his or her election. Sets forth provisions concerning nominating petitions and ballots. Sets forth provisions providing that the City of Chicago shall be subdivided into 20 electoral districts by the General Assembly for seats on the Chicago Board of Education. Sets forth provisions providing that in the year following each decennial census, the General Assembly shall redistrict the electoral districts to reflect the results of each decennial census. Makes other changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/26/2021SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Robert F. Martwick
  2/26/2021SenateFirst Reading
  2/26/2021SenateReferred to Assignments
  3/24/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Celina Villanueva
  3/24/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mike Simmons
  3/24/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina H. Pacione-Zayas
  3/24/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  3/24/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura Fine
  3/24/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Patrick J. Joyce
  3/24/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Christopher Belt
  3/24/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Adriane Johnson
  3/25/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John Connor
  3/25/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Karina Villa
  3/25/2021SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Jacqueline Y. Collins
  3/25/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael E. Hastings
  3/25/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Antonio Muñoz
  3/25/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura Ellman
  3/25/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Thomas Cullerton
  3/25/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ram Villivalam
  4/7/2021SenateAssigned to Executive
  4/13/2021SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Omar Aquino
  4/14/2021SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  4/14/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Robert Peters
  4/14/2021SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Emil Jones, III
  4/15/2021SenateDo Pass Executive; 011-005-000
  4/15/2021SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading April 20, 2021
  4/23/2021SenateRule 2-10 Third Reading Deadline Established As April 30, 2021
  4/30/2021SenateRule 2-10 Third Reading Deadline Established As May 7, 2021
  5/7/2021SenateRule 2-10 Committee/3rd Reading Deadline Established As May 21, 2021
  5/21/2021SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments
  1/10/2023SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top