Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SJR0040
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of SJR0040  103rd General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Julie A. Morrison - Mattie Hunter, Laura M. Murphy and Ann Gillespie

House Sponsors
(Rep. Rita Mayfield)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  5/26/2023HouseReferred to Rules Committee

Synopsis As Introduced
Declares July 2 through July 8, 2023 as Gun Violence Memorial and Prevention Week. Mourns the lives lost at the hands of gunfire in the City of Highland Park on July 4, 2022 and all those around the State of Illinois who have been lost to gun violence and recognizes the surviving families that live with the trauma of their losses. Remembers the lives of Katherine Goldstein, Irina McCarthy, Kevin McCarthy, Stephen Straus, Jacquelyn Sundheim, Nicholas Toledo-Zaragoza, Eduardo Uvaldo, and Aréanah Preston. Remembers all gun violence victims in the City of Chicago and all gun violence victim everywhere across the State. Honors the City of Highland Park, the City of Chicago, and their law enforcement, first responders, and community leaders for their service to the people of Illinois. Urges leaders to continue to do everything in their power to ensure communities across the State do not experience the trauma of gun violence, so that these horrific tragedies shall not be in vain.

DateChamber Action
  5/18/2023SenateFiled with Secretary
  5/18/2023SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  5/18/2023SenateReferred to Assignments
  5/19/2023SenateApproved for Consideration Assignments
  5/19/2023SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of Secretary's Desk Resolutions
  5/19/2023SenateResolution Adopted
  5/19/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  5/19/2023SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ann Gillespie
  5/19/2023HouseArrived in House
  5/25/2023HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  5/26/2023HouseReferred to Rules Committee

Back To Top