Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB4180
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB4180  102nd General Assembly

Short Description:  ST BD EDUC-ELECT MEMBERS

Senate Sponsors
Sen. Terri Bryant - Jil Tracy - Neil Anderson - Dale Fowler, Darren Bailey, Win Stoller, Sue Rezin, Jason Plummer, Donald P. DeWitte, Dave Syverson, Chapin Rose, Sally J. Turner, Steve McClure, Brian W. Stewart, Craig Wilcox and Dan McConchie

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/2A-1.2from Ch. 46, par. 2A-1.2
10 ILCS 5/2A-56 new
10 ILCS 5/10-6from Ch. 46, par. 10-6
10 ILCS 5/10-9from Ch. 46, par. 10-9
10 ILCS 5/22-1from Ch. 46, par. 22-1
10 ILCS 5/22-7from Ch. 46, par. 22-7
105 ILCS 5/1A-1from Ch. 122, par. 1A-1
105 ILCS 5/1A-2from Ch. 122, par. 1A-2
105 ILCS 5/1A-2.1from Ch. 122, par. 1A-2.1
105 ILCS 5/1A-4from Ch. 122, par. 1A-4

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code and the School Code. Provides for 5 new members of the State Board of Education to be elected at the general election in 2024 and every 4 years thereafter (now, the Board consists of 8 members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate). Provides that one member shall be elected from each judicial district. Provides that the 5 members shall be elected on a non partisan basis. Provides that a petition for nomination of a candidate for member of the Board shall be signed by at least 0.5% of the total number of registered voters in the judicial district. Provides that beginning on the date when the 5 members initially elected take office, a majority of the Board shall constitute a quorum. Makes related changes.

DateChamber Action
  2/23/2022SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Terri Bryant
  2/23/2022SenateFirst Reading
  2/23/2022SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Darren Bailey
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Win Stoller
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Sue Rezin
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Jason Plummer
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Donald P. DeWitte
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Jil Tracy
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Neil Anderson
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale Fowler
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dave Syverson
  2/25/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chapin Rose
  2/28/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Sally J. Turner
  3/1/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steve McClure
  3/1/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Brian W. Stewart
  3/1/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Craig Wilcox
  3/2/2022SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dan McConchie
  1/10/2023SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top