Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5834
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5834  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Mark Batinick - Mark L. Walker - Stephanie A. Kifowit - Mary E. Flowers - La Shawn K. Ford, Jonathan Carroll, Lance Yednock, Tim Butler, Maurice A. West, II, Dan Ugaste, Jackie Haas, Jeff Keicher, Norine K. Hammond, Keith R. Wheeler, Chris Bos, Dave Vella, Andrew S. Chesney, Michael J. Zalewski, Blaine Wilhour, Tom Weber, Ryan Spain, Tom Demmer, David A. Welter, Seth Lewis, C.D. Davidsmeyer, Thomas Morrison, Chris Miller, Rita Mayfield, Terra Costa Howard, Anthony DeLuca, Jason Huffman and Sandra Hamilton

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
30 ILCS 105/5.990 new
105 ILCS 5/1A-12 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the School Code. Provides that the State Board of Education shall establish and administer an annual program to award property tax relief grants to school districts in the State. Provides that, in exchange for receiving a grant, the school district's maximum aggregate property tax extension for the taxable year that begins on January 1 of the fiscal year for which the grant is awarded may not exceed a specified maximum aggregate property tax extension. Creates the Education Property Tax Relief Fund for the purpose of making appropriations for the grant program. Amends the State Finance Act to make conforming changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  11/9/2022HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Mark Batinick
  11/16/2022HouseFirst Reading
  11/16/2022HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  11/29/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lance Yednock
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Butler
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Ugaste
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jackie Haas
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith R. Wheeler
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chris Bos
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Vella
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Andrew S. Chesney
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Blaine Wilhour
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Weber
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Demmer
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Seth Lewis
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. C.D. Davidsmeyer
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Morrison
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chris Miller
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  11/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anthony DeLuca
  1/10/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jason Huffman
  1/10/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra Hamilton
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top