Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5785
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5785  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Dave Vella - Frances Ann Hurley - Jay Hoffman - Lance Yednock - Michael Kelly, Bob Morgan, Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar, Lawrence Walsh, Jr., LaToya Greenwood, Fred Crespo, Katie Stuart, Natalie A. Manley, Kelly M. Burke and Michael Halpin

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
705 ILCS 505/24from Ch. 37, par. 439.24

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Court of Claims Act. Provides that for the purpose of making up any deficiency in the appropriation for the payment of claims directed pursuant to the Line of Duty Compensation Act, there is appropriated, on a continuing annual basis in each fiscal year, from the General Revenue Fund to the Court of Claims, the amount, if any, by which the total appropriation for the payment of claims directed pursuant to the Line of Duty Compensation Act for the fiscal year is less than the amount required for the payment of claims pursuant to the Line of Duty Compensation Act for that fiscal year. Provides that the amount of any continuing appropriation used by the Court of Claims under the amendatory Act for a given fiscal year shall be charged against the unexpended amount of any appropriation for line of duty awards to the Court of Claims for that fiscal year that subsequently becomes available. Requires the Court of Claims to report to the President and Minority Leader of the Senate, the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, and the Governor's Office of Management and Budget on any continuing appropriation that is used at the conclusion of a fiscal year. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  8/11/2022HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Dave Vella
  8/11/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  8/15/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lance Yednock
  8/15/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  8/15/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  8/29/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar
  8/29/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Kelly
  8/29/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence Walsh, Jr.
  8/29/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  8/29/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Fred Crespo
  8/29/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  8/29/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  8/29/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Burke
  10/24/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  11/16/2022HouseFirst Reading
  11/16/2022HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top