Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5744
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5744  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Martin J. Moylan - Frances Ann Hurley - Jaime M. Andrade, Jr. - Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar - Michael Kelly, Debbie Meyers-Martin, Jeff Keicher, Seth Lewis, Martin McLaughlin, Stephanie A. Kifowit, La Shawn K. Ford, Margaret Croke, Dave Vella, Michael J. Zalewski, LaToya Greenwood, Daniel Didech, Michael Halpin, Lance Yednock, Fred Crespo, Sue Scherer, Elizabeth Hernandez, Joyce Mason, Suzanne Ness, Kathleen Willis, Katie Stuart, Robert Rita, Joe Sosnowski, Andrew S. Chesney, Bradley Stephens, Michael T. Marron, Paul Jacobs, Ann M. Williams, Kelly M. Burke, Dan Brady, Mark L. Walker, Jonathan Carroll, Robyn Gabel, Anne Stava-Murray, Amy Grant, Sam Yingling, Janet Yang Rohr, Jehan Gordon-Booth, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz and Deanne M. Mazzochi

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
625 ILCS 5/4-110 new
625 ILCS 5/4-111 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code. Provides that in a county having a population of 3,000,000 or more, the county sheriff shall establish with other law enforcement agencies a vehicle theft hotline to facilitate the location of stolen vehicles via their installed existing global positioning systems, collaborate with vehicle manufacturers and dealers to provide information and assistance to law enforcement officers in the investigation of vehicle theft, and ensure that consumers are provided with information concerning the hotline and any new or used vehicle manufactured with a global positioning system by publishing the information in a conspicuous location on the county sheriff's website. Provides that the manufacturer of any vehicle sold in this State shall establish a hotline available to State, county, and local law enforcement agencies exclusively for the purposes of law enforcement information sharing and the electronic tracking of vehicles stolen in vehicular hijacking incidents or that have been used in the commission of kidnapping, aggravated battery with a firearm, attempted homicide, or homicide. Provides that the manufacturer's hotline shall relay vehicle location information, including real-time vehicle location information whenever possible, to the 9-1-1 call center or designated dispatch center for the responding agency, to the best of the manufacturer's technical capability. Requires State, county, and local law enforcement agencies to use their respective 9-1-1 system call centers or designated dispatch centers for the purpose of verification of law enforcement officers' identities and bona fide incident report numbers related to incidents. Requires manufacturers to prepare written statements detailing tracking and disabling system capabilities and make them available to State, county, and local law enforcement agencies upon request. Requires that, if a vehicle is not subscribed to the manufacturer's tracking service, the manufacturer of any vehicle sold in this State shall waive all fees associated with initiating, renewing, reestablishing, or maintaining the location, disabling, or alert service with which the vehicle is equipped during a law enforcement response or investigation of specified offenses.

DateChamber Action
  4/5/2022HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  4/6/2022HouseFirst Reading
  4/6/2022HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Seth Lewis
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin McLaughlin
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margaret Croke
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Vella
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lance Yednock
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Fred Crespo
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne Ness
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Kelly
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Rita
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Andrew S. Chesney
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bradley Stephens
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael T. Marron
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul Jacobs
  4/6/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  4/6/2022HouseRemove Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  4/6/2022HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Kelly
  4/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Burke
  4/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Kelly
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Grant
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  4/8/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deanne M. Mazzochi
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top