Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5499
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5499  100th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Sara Feigenholtz - Kelly M. Cassidy - Will Guzzardi - Steven A. Andersson - Juliana Stratton, Robyn Gabel, Ann M. Williams, Litesa E. Wallace, Laura Fine, Allen Skillicorn, Gregory Harris, Anna Moeller, Deb Conroy, Grant Wehrli, Michael J. Zalewski, John Connor, Katie Stuart and Sam Yingling

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
5 ILCS 430/20-20
5 ILCS 430/20-100 new
5 ILCS 430/25-20
5 ILCS 430/25-100 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the State Officials and Employees Ethics Act. Creates the Offices of Executive Employee Advocacy and the Office of Legislative Employee Advocacy. Provides for the appointment of a Director to head each respective Office of Employee Advocacy. Provides for the qualifications and compensation of the Director. Provides that each respective Office of Employee Advocacy shall provide all employees over which it has jurisdiction with legal assistance, representation, and support concerning any complaint, investigation, or proceeding initiated under specified provisions of the Act, and operate a hotline through which covered employees may contact the Office concerning such matters. Allows the Director to employ and determine the compensation of staff as he or she determines necessary to carry out the functions of the Office. Provides that Executive Inspectors General and the Legislative Inspector General shall have the duty to appoint Directors of Employee Advocacy.

DateChamber Action
  2/16/2018HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Sara Feigenholtz
  2/16/2018HouseFirst Reading
  2/16/2018HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/16/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/16/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  2/16/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven A. Andersson
  2/16/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Juliana Stratton
  2/16/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  2/16/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/16/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Litesa E. Wallace
  2/16/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Fine
  2/16/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Allen Skillicorn
  2/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregory Harris
  2/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  2/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  2/20/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
  2/21/2018HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  2/21/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  3/8/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John Connor
  3/8/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  3/8/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  4/13/2018HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top