Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5137
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5137  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz - Lakesia Collins - Elizabeth Hernandez - Michael Kelly, Dagmara Avelar, Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Theresa Mah, Katie Stuart, Kathleen Willis, Eva-Dina Delgado, Barbara Hernandez, Rita Mayfield, Michael Halpin, Joyce Mason, Carol Ammons, Anthony DeLuca, Kelly M. Cassidy, Martin J. Moylan, Cyril Nichols, Delia C. Ramirez, Lamont J. Robinson, Jr., Kambium Buckner, Jawaharial Williams, Lindsey LaPointe, Debbie Meyers-Martin, La Shawn K. Ford and Mary E. Flowers

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
20 ILCS 105/4.02from Ch. 23, par. 6104.02

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Act on the Aging. Provides that rates for homemaker services shall be increased to $26.52 beginning July 1, 2022 to sustain a minimum wage of $16 per hour for direct service workers. Provides that rates in subsequent State fiscal years shall be no lower than the rates in effect on July 1, 2022. Provides that providers of in-home services shall be required to certify to the Department on Aging that they remain in compliance with the mandated wage increase for direct service workers. Provides that fringe benefits, including, but not limited to, paid time off and payment for training, health insurance, travel, or transportation, shall not be reduced in relation to the rate increases described in the amendatory Act. Effective July 1, 2022.

DateChamber Action
  1/27/2022HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  1/27/2022HouseFirst Reading
  1/27/2022HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/17/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  2/22/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  2/22/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  2/22/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  2/23/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  2/24/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  2/24/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado
  2/25/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  2/28/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  3/1/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  3/1/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  3/2/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  3/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anthony DeLuca
  3/15/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/16/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  3/16/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cyril Nichols
  3/16/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  3/16/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  3/16/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  3/18/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jawaharial Williams
  3/23/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lakesia Collins
  3/23/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  3/25/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  3/25/2022HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Kelly
  4/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Debbie Meyers-Martin
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  4/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top