Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4120
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4120  100th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Grant Wehrli - Barbara Wheeler - Carol Sente - Michael P. McAuliffe - Sheri Jesiel, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Anthony DeLuca, David S. Olsen, Jim Durkin, Patricia R. Bellock, Linda Chapa LaVia, Margo McDermed, Mark Batinick, Peter Breen, David Harris and Jeanne M Ives

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
720 ILCS 5/24-1from Ch. 38, par. 24-1

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Criminal Code of 2012 concerning unlawful use of weapons. Provides that 120 days after the effective date of the bill, it is unlawful for a person to knowingly import, sell, manufacture, transfer, or possess, in this State, a bump-fire stock for a semi-automatic firearm that does not convert the semi-automatic firearm into a machine gun. Defines "bump-fire stock" as a butt stock designed to be attached to a semi-automatic firearm and designed, made, or altered, and intended to increase the rate of fire achievable with the firearm to that of a fully automatic firearm by using the energy from the recoil of the firearm to generate reciprocating action that facilitates repeated activation of the trigger. Provides that a violation is a Class 4 felony. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  10/17/2017HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Barbara Wheeler
  10/19/2017HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Sente
  10/24/2017HouseFirst Reading
  10/24/2017HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  10/24/2017HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
  10/24/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  10/24/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anthony DeLuca
  10/25/2017HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  10/25/2017HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  10/25/2017HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Sheri Jesiel
  10/25/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David S. Olsen
  10/26/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Durkin
  10/26/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
  10/26/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  10/31/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
  11/8/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
  12/1/2017HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Peter Breen
  1/31/2018HouseChief Sponsor Changed to Rep. Grant Wehrli
  1/31/2018HouseRemove Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
  2/6/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David Harris
  2/15/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Wheeler
  2/28/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeanne M Ives
  1/8/2019HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top