Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2929
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2929  102nd General Assembly

Short Description:  ELEC CD-USE OF FUNDS

House Sponsors
Rep. Deanne M. Mazzochi, Amy Grant, Mark Batinick, Dan Ugaste, Martin McLaughlin, Sandra Hamilton, Amy Elik, Blaine Wilhour, Brad Halbrook, Seth Lewis, Jeff Keicher, Chris Bos, C.D. Davidsmeyer, Jackie Haas, Tim Ozinga, Tom Weber, Tony McCombie and Joe Sosnowski

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/9-8.10
10 ILCS 5/9-33 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Prohibits a political committee from making certain expenditures to provide a defense in any criminal case or a defense in a civil case pertaining to misconduct by a person in his or her capacity as a public official, sexual harassment claims, or discrimination claims. Requires that a person found to have used campaign contributions in violation of the Code shall return contributions to the contributor or pay to the State if the contributor cannot be identified or reimbursed. Requires the political committee to include information on the contributions returned to the contributor or paid to the State in the committee's quarterly report to the State Board of Elections.

DateChamber Action
  2/18/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Deanne M. Mazzochi
  2/19/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/19/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/9/2021HouseAssigned to Ethics & Elections Committee
  3/17/2021HouseTo Procurement Subcommitee
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  2/1/2022HouseAssigned to Ethics & Elections Committee
  2/18/2022HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Grant
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Ugaste
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin McLaughlin
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra Hamilton
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Elik
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Blaine Wilhour
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brad Halbrook
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Seth Lewis
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chris Bos
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. C.D. Davidsmeyer
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jackie Haas
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Ozinga
  3/9/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Weber
  3/10/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
  3/30/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top