Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2622
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2622  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Anne Stava-Murray - Curtis J. Tarver, II - Lakesia Collins - Cyril Nichols, Kelly M. Cassidy, Deb Conroy, Terra Costa Howard, Daniel Didech, Jonathan Carroll, Kathleen Willis, Sam Yingling, Anna Moeller, Lindsey LaPointe, Robyn Gabel, Maurice A. West, II, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Greg Harris, Margaret Croke, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Will Guzzardi, Michael J. Zalewski, Dagmara Avelar, La Shawn K. Ford, Barbara Hernandez, Joyce Mason, Rita Mayfield, Aaron M. Ortiz, Mary E. Flowers, Mark L. Walker, Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar, LaToya Greenwood, Martin J. Moylan, Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Janet Yang Rohr, Katie Stuart, Elizabeth Hernandez, Lamont J. Robinson, Jr., Theresa Mah and Natalie A. Manley

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Don Harmon)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
820 ILCS 147/35

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the School Visitation Rights Act. Provides that an employer that terminates an employee for absences to attend school conferences is liable in a civil action for damages resulting to the employee. Imposes upon the employer the burden of proof to demonstrate that termination is not related to an employee's absence for attendance at a school conference, behavioral meeting, or academic meeting. Effective August 1, 2021.

DateChamber Action
  2/17/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  2/19/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/19/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  3/9/2021HouseAssigned to Labor & Commerce Committee
  3/17/2021HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Labor & Commerce Committee; 017-011-000
  3/18/2021HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  3/19/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  3/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Greg Harris
  3/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margaret Croke
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar
  4/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Curtis J. Tarver, II
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lakesia Collins
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Cyril Nichols
  4/15/2021HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/15/2021HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  4/20/2021HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 065-044-000
  4/21/2021SenateArrive in Senate
  4/21/2021SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading April 22, 2021
  4/22/2021SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Thomas Cullerton
  4/22/2021SenateFirst Reading
  4/22/2021SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/23/2022SenateAlternate Chief Sponsor Changed to Sen. Don Harmon
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top