Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2575
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2575  102nd General Assembly

Short Description:  ETHICS REFORM

House Sponsors
Rep. Michael T. Marron - Mark Batinick - Tim Butler, Daniel Swanson, Tony McCombie, Blaine Wilhour, Andrew S. Chesney, Jeff Keicher, Amy Elik, Tim Ozinga, Ryan Spain, Martin McLaughlin and Avery Bourne

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
5 ILCS 430/25-15
5 ILCS 430/25-20
5 ILCS 430/25-52

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the State Officials and Employees Ethics Act. Provides that the Legislative Ethics Commission shall adopt no rule requiring the Legislative Inspector General to seek the Commission's advance approval before commencing an investigation or issuing a subpoena. Provides that an investigation of the Legislative Inspector General may not be initiated more than 2 years (rather than one year) after the most recent act of the alleged violation or of a series of alleged violations. Provides that if the subject matter of the investigation would constitute a civil offense or crime if proven, then the statute of limitations should be the same as that for the offense or crime. Requires the Legislative Inspector General to notify complainants of receipt of a complaint within 15 business days after receiving such complaint. Provides for the release of founded and unfounded reports. Provides that any respondent who is afforded the opportunity to participate in an investigation, but who refuses to cooperate, forfeits the right to offer redactions or to provide a response to the report to the Commission. Makes conforming and other changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/17/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Mike Murphy
  2/19/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/19/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Swanson
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Blaine Wilhour
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael T. Marron
  2/24/2021HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael T. Marron
  2/25/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Andrew S. Chesney
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Butler
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  3/4/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Elik
  3/9/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Ozinga
  3/9/2021HouseAssigned to Ethics & Elections Committee
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  3/19/2021HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Mike Murphy
  3/19/2021HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  3/19/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin McLaughlin
  3/23/2021HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Ethics & Elections Committee
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/27/2021HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rule 19(c) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  6/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Avery Bourne
  3/3/2022HouseChief Sponsor Changed to Rep. Michael T. Marron
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top