Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB1734
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB1734  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. LaToya Greenwood - Lawrence Walsh, Jr. - Ryan Spain - Jay Hoffman - Jehan Gordon-Booth, David A. Welter, Barbara Hernandez, Dan Caulkins, Michael T. Marron, Katie Stuart, Daniel Swanson, Tony McCombie, Charles Meier, Justin Slaughter, Norine K. Hammond, Dave Severin, Tom Demmer, Anthony DeLuca, Michael Halpin, Thomas M. Bennett, Martin J. Moylan, Robert Rita, Randy E. Frese, Natalie A. Manley, Jonathan Carroll, Dan Brady, Dave Vella, Patrick Windhorst, Amy Elik, Keith R. Wheeler, Frances Ann Hurley, Mark Luft, Mike Murphy, Paul Jacobs, Mark Batinick, Jeff Keicher, Joe Sosnowski, Andrew S. Chesney, Chris Bos, Amy Grant, C.D. Davidsmeyer, David Friess, Seth Lewis, Janet Yang Rohr, Sonya M. Harper, Nicholas K. Smith, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Lamont J. Robinson, Jr. and Jawaharial Williams

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
20 ILCS 3855/1-10
20 ILCS 3855/1-75
220 ILCS 5/5-117
220 ILCS 5/8-103B
220 ILCS 5/8-218 new
220 ILCS 5/9-244.5 new
220 ILCS 5/16-102
220 ILCS 5/16-107.6
220 ILCS 5/16-108.5
220 ILCS 5/16-108.19 new
220 ILCS 5/16-108.20 new
220 ILCS 5/16-111.5
220 ILCS 5/16-128A
820 ILCS 130/2from Ch. 48, par. 39s-2

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Power Agency Act. In provisions concerning the renewable portfolio standards, specifies the goals for procurement of renewable energy credits and cost-effective renewable energy resources that shall be included in the long-term renewable resources procurement plan and makes other changes concerning these procurements and provides for the calculation of the cost of equity for the purposes of recovering all reasonable and prudently incurred costs of energy efficiency measures from retail customers. Provides that savings of fuels other than electricity achieved by measures that educate about, incentivize, encourage, or otherwise support the use of electricity to power vehicles shall count towards the applicable annual incremental goal and shall not be included in determining certain limits. Amends the Public Utilities Act. Provides that an electric utility that serves less than 3,000,000 retail customers but more than 500,000 customers in this State may plan for, construct, install, control, own, manage, or operate photovoltaic electricity production facilities and any energy storage facilities that are planned for, constructed, installed, controlled, owned, managed, or operated in connection with photovoltaic electricity production facilities without obtaining a certificate of public convenience and necessity subject to specified terms and conditions. Provides that a public utility that provided electric service to at least 1,000,000 retail customers in Illinois and gas service to at least 500,000 retail customers in Illinois may elect to recover its natural gas delivery services costs through a performance-based rate. Provides that, beginning in 2022, without obtaining any approvals from the Commission or any other agency, regardless of whether any such approval would otherwise be required, a participating utility that is a combination utility shall pay $1,000,000 per year for 10 years to the energy low-income and support program. Adds provisions authorizing certain utilities to plan for, construct, install, control, own, manage, or operate electric vehicle charging infrastructure. Amends the Prevailing Wage Act to include specified facilities financed in whole or in part with renewable energy resources in the definition of "public works". Makes other changes. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/11/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  2/11/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence Walsh, Jr.
  2/11/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  2/11/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  2/11/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  2/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
  2/17/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/17/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Caulkins
  2/19/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael T. Marron
  2/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  2/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Swanson
  2/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles Meier
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Demmer
  2/25/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anthony DeLuca
  2/25/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  3/1/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas M. Bennett
  3/2/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  3/3/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Rita
  3/3/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Randy E. Frese
  3/9/2021HouseAssigned to Public Utilities Committee
  3/10/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  3/10/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  3/11/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  3/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Vella
  3/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  3/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Elik
  3/17/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith R. Wheeler
  3/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  3/22/2021HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Public Utilities Committee; 024-000-000
  3/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Luft
  3/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Murphy
  4/8/2021HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  4/8/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul Jacobs
  4/8/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
  4/8/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  4/9/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  4/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Andrew S. Chesney
  4/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chris Bos
  4/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Grant
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. C.D. Davidsmeyer
  4/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David Friess
  4/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Seth Lewis
  4/21/2021HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/21/2021HouseHeld on Calendar Order of Second Reading - Short Debate
  4/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  4/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  4/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  4/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  4/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  4/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jawaharial Williams
  4/23/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top