Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2446
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB2446  103rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Nabeela Syed - Carol Ammons - Edgar Gonzalez, Jr. - Aaron M. Ortiz - Laura Faver Dias, Gregg Johnson, Lilian Jiménez, Daniel Didech, Jonathan Carroll, Michelle Mussman, Kelly M. Cassidy, Joyce Mason, Bob Morgan, Harry Benton, Theresa Mah, Matt Hanson, Abdelnasser Rashid, Hoan Huynh and Katie Stuart

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  3/10/2023HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/1A-16.5
10 ILCS 5/3-6

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Allows the State Board of Elections to receive voter registration information provided by applicants using electronic voter registration portals (rather than the Board's website). Provides that notwithstanding any other provision of law, a person who is otherwise qualified to vote may preregister to vote on or after that person's 16th birthday, with the registration held in abeyance by the appropriate election authority until that individual attains the required age to vote. Requires preregistration to be completed using the online voter registration system or an electronic voter registration portal. Provides that for the purposes of the Code, an individual who is 16 years of age or older (rather than who is 17 years of age and who will be 18 years of age on the date of the general or consolidated election) shall be deemed competent to execute and attest to any voter registration forms.

DateChamber Action
  2/14/2023HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Nabeela Syed
  2/15/2023HouseFirst Reading
  2/15/2023HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/23/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  2/23/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregg Johnson
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lilian Jiménez
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Harry Benton
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  2/24/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Matt Hanson
  2/28/2023HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Faver Dias
  2/28/2023HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Laura Faver Dias
  2/28/2023HouseAssigned to Ethics & Elections
  3/1/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Abdelnasser Rashid
  3/1/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Hoan Huynh
  3/6/2023HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Nabeela Syed
  3/6/2023HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  3/7/2023HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Ethics & Elections
  3/10/2023HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/10/2023HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rule 19(c) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/28/2023HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart

Back To Top