

HR0996 LRB099 20417 GRL 44912 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, Kendall County was formed on February 19, 1841 out 3 of portions of neighboring LaSalle County and Kane County and 4 is located in the lower Fox River Valley; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Kendall County is made up of 9 townships: Oswego, 6 Bristol, Little Rock, Na Au Say, Kendall, Fox, Big Grove, 7 Lisbon, and Seward; and
- WHEREAS, Today, Kendall County is home to or contains part
 of numerous cities, villages, hamlets, and unincorporated
 areas, including Sandwich, Plano, Little Rock, Bristol,
 Montgomery, Aurora, Boulder Hill, Plainfield, Joliet, Minooka,
 Plattville, Lisbon, Millbrook, Millington, Helmar, the former
 county seat, Oswego, and the current county seat, Yorkville;
 and
- 15 WHEREAS, Kendall County was originally to be named Orange 16 County after the area of upstate New York where many original 17 settlers came from; the Illinois General Assembly amended the 18 name to Kendall County after Amos Kendall, the eighth 19 Postmaster General of the United States; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Kendall County was the fastest growing county in 21 the United States between 2000 and 2010, increasing in size

from 54,544 to 114,736 with a population growth rate of 110.4%;

- 2 and
- 3 WHEREAS, Kendall County continues to grow and develop
- 4 through the efforts of local governments, citizens, and
- 5 businesses; and
- 6 WHEREAS, This year, Kendall County and its 121,530
- 7 residents in north-eastern Illinois are celebrating the
- 8 county's 175th anniversary; therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 10 NINETY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 11 congratulate the citizens of Kendall County on the celebration
- of the county's 175th anniversary and wish them success and
- happiness in the future; and be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- presented to all 10 members of the Kendall County Board in
- 16 recognition of this joyous occasion.