

HR0736 LRB099 14138 GRL 38179 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On August 2, 2015, Wildwood in Lake County was hit by a tornado; and

WHEREAS, In the face of this disaster, the Youth
Conservation Corps, staffed by Tom Berry, Bill Foltz, Tyrone
McGee, Marvin Reddick, Ben Richards, Robert Shears, and Fred
Williams, went to work to help those who were in desperate need
of support; and

WHEREAS, The Youth Conservation Corps is a summer employment program that brings together young adults ages 15 to 18 in an effort to restore and protect natural parks; while their work projects typically involve tasks such as the removal of invasive plants and habitat preservation, when called upon during this crisis, they proved to be capable of much more; and

WHEREAS, After the tornado hit, these young leaders, whose members included Ragean Anderson, Julian Amos, Cody Bond, Chris Coburn, Emanuel Cruz, Irene Hernandez, Jose Lopez, Kwentin Mayfield, Sierra Riley, Joshua Robles, Daviontae Sims, Tamera Wallace, and Dale Watson, jumped into action, clearing fallen debris and helping members of the community cope with what had just happened; and

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

1 WHEREAS, To date, these 13 Youth Conservation Corps members 2 and 7 Youth Conservation Corps staff have engaged in over 250 service hours and positively impacted not only the 11 homes 3 4 which they helped clear, but also a large park operated by the 5

Wildwood Park District; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES ΟF THE NINETY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we thank the members of the Youth Conservation Corps for their efforts in the aftermath of the tornado in Wildwood, not only on behalf of the residents whose houses they cleared, but also on behalf of the entire community of Wildwood and the citizens of this State; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to the Youth Conservation Corps as a symbol of our thanks and appreciation for their service to the Wildwood community and the State of Illinois.