

HR0350

LRB099 11838 MST 33832 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the members of Delta Sigma 4 Theta Sorority, Inc. - Peoria Alumnae Chapter on the occasion 5 of their 40th anniversary; and

6 WHEREAS, In February of 1975, 12 sorors from different 7 regions of the country met to explore the establishment of an 8 alumnae chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. in Peoria; 9 the initial services and programs focused then, and now, on 10 Delta Sigma Theta's Five Point Program - aiding the black 11 community as a whole through social, political, and economic 12 means; and

WHEREAS, On April 19, 1975, the Peoria Alumnae Chapter was founded by Mollye Bright, Dorothy Comish, Eleanor Cowling, Mary Hooks, Dianne Newsom, Sharon Reed, Gloria Reed, Hazel Scott, Kathryn Timmes, Valerie Timmes, June Tyler, and the late Celeste Wiggins; and

18 WHEREAS, Over the past 35 years, the Peoria Alumnae Chapter 19 has developed and implemented many programs and services for 20 the community and continues to build upon the past and enhance 21 the lives of families in the Greater Peoria community; and HR0350 -2- LRB099 11838 MST 33832 r
1 WHEREAS, A celebration of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
2 - Peoria Alumnae Chapter's anniversary will be held on April
3 17, 2015 at the Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette; therefore, be
4 it

5 RESOLVED, ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 6 NINETY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 7 congratulate the members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. -8 Peoria Alumnae Chapter on their 40th anniversary and wish them 9 many more successful years; and be it further

10 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 11 presented to Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. - Peoria Alumnae 12 Chapter as an expression of our esteem and respect.