

HR0190

LRB099 11038 MST 31418 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Southern Illinois 4 University Carbondale Flying Salukis on winning the 2014 5 National Intercollegiate Flying Association Championship; and

6 WHEREAS, The State of Illinois is fortunate to have many 7 outstanding collegiate students and programs that earn 8 national recognition, but none have achieved as much 9 distinction as the Flying Salukis; and

10 WHEREAS, The Flying Salukis are the current defending 11 National Intercollegiate Flying Association champions and the 12 winner of 9 national titles in the history of the university's 13 aviation department; and

14 WHEREAS, The National Intercollegiate Flying Association 15 Championship is determined during a competition involving both 16 ground and flight events among 27 collegiate teams from across 17 the nation; and

18 WHEREAS, Leading the 2014 championship team were Jacob 19 Schwarz, Dane Fearneyhough, Prescott Dean, John Behnke, Robert 20 Hutchinson, Sean Gipe, George Nimmer, Kyle Hayes, Kevin 21 Grandberry, Michael Maughan, Joshua Sager, Aaron Applebee, HR0190 -2- LRB099 11038 MST 31418 r Jonathan Dowell, Emily Frasca, and Davin Miles; and

2 WHEREAS, The Flying Salukis are skillfully coached by 3 Nathan Lincoln, Kim Carter, Michael LeFevre, James 4 Libuszowski, and Samuel Oas; therefore, be it

1

RESOLVED, BY THE 5 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 6 NINETY-NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 7 join the many friends and fans of the Southern Illinois University Carbondale Flying Salukis in congratulating them 8 9 for winning the 2014 National Intercollegiate Flying 10 Association Championship and we wish them continued success and 11 a repeat championship in 2015; and be it further

12 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 13 presented to the Flying Salukis as an expression of our esteem 14 and respect.