

## 99TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## State of Illinois

## 2015 and 2016

#### HB3179

by Rep. John E. Bradley

### SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

55 ILCS 5/2-4006.5

Amends the Counties Code. Makes a technical change in a Section concerning commissioners in certain counties.

LRB099 06838 AWJ 26912 b

HB3179

AN ACT concerning local government.

# 2 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, 3 represented in the General Assembly:

Section 5. The Counties Code is amended by changing Section
2-4006.5 as follows:

6 (55 ILCS 5/2-4006.5)

7

1

Sec. 2-4006.5. Commissioners in certain counties.

8 (a) If a county elects 3 commissioners at large under 9 Section 2-4006, registered voters of such county may, by a vote of a majority of those voting on such proposition, determine to 10 change the method of electing the board of county commissioners 11 by electing either 3 or 5 members from single member districts. 12 In order for such question to be placed upon the ballot, such 13 14 petition must contain the signatures of not fewer than 10% of the the registered voters of such county. 15

16 Commissioners may not be elected from single member 17 districts until the question of electing either 3 or 5 commissioners from single member districts has been submitted 18 19 to the electors of the county at a regular election and 20 approved by a majority of the electors voting on the question. 21 The commissioners must certify the question to the proper 22 election authority, which must submit the question at an election in accordance with the Election Code. 23

HB3179

1 The question must be in substantially the following form: 2 Shall the board of county commissioners of (name of 3 county) consist of (insert either 3 or 5) commissioners 4 elected from single member districts?

5 The votes must be recorded as "Yes" or "No".

If a majority of the electors voting on the question vote in the affirmative, a 3-member or 5-member board of county commissioners, as the case may be, shall be established to be elected from single member districts.

10 (b) If the voters of the county decide to elect either 3 or 11 5 commissioners from single member districts, the board of 12 county commissioners shall on or before August 31 of the year 13 following the 2000 federal decennial census divide the county into either 3 or 5 compact and contiguous county commission 14 15 districts that are substantially equal in population. On or 16 before May 31 of the year following each federal decennial 17 census thereafter, the board of county commissioners shall reapportion the county commission districts to be compact, 18 19 contiguous, and substantially equal in population.

(c) The commissioners elected at large at or before the general election in 2000 shall continue to serve until the expiration of their terms. Of those commissioners, the commissioner whose term expires in 2002 shall be assigned to district 1; the commissioner whose term expires in 2004 shall be assigned to district 2; and the commissioner whose term expires in 2006 shall be assigned to district 3. HB3179

If the voters of the county decide to elect 5 1 (d) 2 commissioners from single member districts, at the general 3 election in 2002, one commissioner from and residing in each of districts 1, 4, and 5 shall be elected. At the general election 4 5 in 2004, one commissioner from and residing in each of districts 1, 2, and 5 shall be elected. At the general election 6 7 in 2006, one commissioner from and residing in each of 8 districts 2, 3, and 4 shall be elected. At the general election 9 in 2008, one commissioner from and residing in each of 10 districts 1, 3, and 5 shall be elected. At the general election 11 in 2010, one commissioner from each of districts 2 and 4 shall 12 be elected. At the general election in 2012, commissioners from and residing in each district shall be elected. Thereafter, 13 14 commissioners shall be elected at each general election to fill 15 expired terms. Each commissioner must reside in the district 16 that he or she represents from the time that he or she files 17 his or her nomination papers until his or her term expires.

In the year following the decennial census of 2010 and every 10 years thereafter, the commissioners, publicly by lot, shall divide the districts into 2 groups. One group shall serve terms of 4 years, 4 years, and 2 years and one group shall serve terms of 2 years, 4 years, and 4 years.

23 (Source: P.A. 91-846, eff. 6-22-00; 92-189, eff. 8-1-01.)