

Sen. Melinda Bush

Filed: 5/15/2015

	09900HB0417sam002 LRB099 03888 AWJ 35526 a
1	AMENDMENT TO HOUSE BILL 417
2	AMENDMENT NO Amend House Bill 417 by replacing
3	everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4	"Section 5. The Upper Illinois River Valley Development
5	Authority Act is amended by changing Section 4 as follows:
6	(70 ILCS 530/4) (from Ch. 85, par. 7154)
7	Sec. 4. Establishment.
8	(a) There is hereby created a political subdivision, body
9	politic and municipal corporation named the Upper Illinois
10	River Valley Development Authority. The territorial
11	jurisdiction of the Authority is that geographic area within
12	the boundaries of Grundy, LaSalle, Bureau, Putnam, Kendall,
13	Kane, <u>Lake,</u> McHenry, and Marshall counties in the State of
14	Illinois and any navigable waters and air space located
15	therein.
16	(b) The governing and administrative powers of the

09900HB0417sam002 -2- LRB099 03888 AWJ 35526 a

1 Authority shall be vested in a body consisting of 21 20 members 2 including, as ex officio members, the Director of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, or his or her designee, and the Director 3 4 of the Department of Central Management Services, or his or her 5 designee. The other 19 18 members of the Authority shall be 6 designated "public members", 10 of whom shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate and 9 $extsf{8}$ 7 of whom shall be appointed one each by the county board 8 9 chairmen of Grundy, LaSalle, Bureau, Putnam, Kendall, Kane, 10 Lake, McHenry, and Marshall counties. All public members shall 11 reside within the territorial jurisdiction of this Act. Eleven members shall constitute a quorum. The public members shall be 12 13 persons of recognized ability and experience in one or more of 14 the following areas: economic development, finance, banking, 15 industrial development, small business management, real estate 16 development, community development, venture finance, organized labor or civic, community or neighborhood organization. The 17 Chairman of the Authority shall be elected by the Board 18 19 annually from the 8 members appointed by the county board 20 chairmen.

(c) The terms of all initial members of the Authority shall begin 30 days after the effective date of this Act. Of the 14 public members appointed pursuant to this Act, 4 appointed by the Governor shall serve until the third Monday in January, 1992, 4 appointed by the Governor shall serve until the third Monday in January, 1993, one appointed by the Governor shall 09900HB0417sam002 -3- LRB099 03888 AWJ 35526 a

1 serve until the third Monday in January, 1994, one appointed by 2 the Governor shall serve until the third Monday in January 1999, the member appointed by the county board chairman of 3 4 LaSalle County shall serve until the third Monday in January, 5 1992, the members appointed by the county board chairmen of 6 Grundy County, Bureau County, Putnam County, and Marshall County shall serve until the third Monday in January, 1994, and 7 8 the member appointed by the county board chairman of Kendall County shall serve until the third Monday in January, 1999. The 9 10 initial members appointed by the chairmen of the county boards 11 of Kane and McHenry counties shall serve until the third Monday in January, 2003. The initial members appointed by the chairman 12 13 of the county board of Lake County shall serve until the third 14 Monday in January, 2018. All successors shall be appointed by 15 the original appointing authority and hold office for a term of 16 3 years commencing the third Monday in January of the year in which their term commences, except in case of an appointment to 17 fill a vacancy. Vacancies occurring among the public members 18 shall be filled for the remainder of the term. In case of 19 20 vacancy in a Governor-appointed membership when the Senate is 21 not in session, the Governor may make a temporary appointment 22 until the next meeting of the Senate when a person shall be nominated to fill such office, and any person so nominated who 23 24 is confirmed by the Senate shall hold office during the 25 remainder of the term and until a successor shall be appointed 26 and qualified. Members of the Authority shall not be entitled

09900HB0417sam002 -4- LRB099 03888 AWJ 35526 a

to compensation for their services as members but shall be entitled to reimbursement for all necessary expenses incurred in connection with the performance of their duties as members.

4 (d) The Governor may remove any public member of the
5 Authority in case of incompetency, neglect of duty, or
6 malfeasance in office.

(e) The Board shall appoint an Executive Director who shall 7 have a background in finance, including familiarity with the 8 9 legal and procedural requirements of issuing bonds, real estate 10 or economic development and administration. The Executive 11 Director shall hold office at the discretion of the Board. The Executive Director shall be the chief administrative 12 and 13 operational officer of the Authority, shall direct and 14 supervise its administrative affairs and general management, 15 shall perform such other duties as may be prescribed from time 16 to time by the members and shall receive compensation fixed by the Authority. The Executive Director shall attend all meetings 17 of the Authority; however, no action of the Authority shall be 18 19 invalid on account of the absence of the Executive Director 20 from a meeting. The Authority may engage the services of such other agents and employees, including attorneys, appraisers, 21 22 engineers, accountants, credit analysts and other consultants, 23 as it may deem advisable and may prescribe their duties and fix 24 their compensation.

(f) The Board may, by majority vote, nominate up to 4
 non-voting members for appointment by the Governor. Non-voting

09900HB0417sam002 -5- LRB099 03888 AWJ 35526 a

1 members shall be persons of recognized ability and experience in one or more of the following areas: economic development, 2 3 finance, banking, industrial development, small business 4 management, real estate development, community development, 5 venture finance, organized labor or civic, community or neighborhood organization. Non-voting members shall serve at 6 the pleasure of the Board. All non-voting members may attend 7 8 meetings of the Board and shall be reimbursed as provided in 9 subsection (c).

10 (q) The Board shall create a task force to study and make 11 recommendations to the Board on the economic development of the territory within the jurisdiction of this Act. The members of 12 13 the task force shall reside within the territorial jurisdiction 14 of this Act, shall serve at the pleasure of the Board and shall 15 be persons of recognized ability and experience in one or more 16 of the following areas: economic development, finance, banking, industrial development, small business management, 17 estate development, community development, venture 18 real 19 finance, organized labor or civic, community or neighborhood 20 organization. The number of members constituting the task force 21 shall be set by the Board and may vary from time to time. The 22 Board may set a specific date by which the task force is to 23 submit its final report and recommendations to the Board.

24 (Source: P.A. 94-793, eff. 5-19-06.)

25

Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon

09900HB0417sam002

1 becoming law.".