

HR1003

LRB098 20747 GRL 57900 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, founded 3 on the campus of Howard University in 1908 and incorporated in 4 1913, has established a mandate for carrying out the vision of 5 a new day of excellence and performance; and

6 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha's mission of "Service to All 7 Mankind" began at its inception; the sorority has remained at 8 the forefront of positive change in American life, particularly 9 in the African-American community, for 106 years; and

10 WHEREAS, Many prominent women have been or are members of 11 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., including the late First Lady 12 Eleanor Roosevelt, the late civil rights leaders Coretta Scott 13 King and Rosa Parks, actress Phylicia Rashad, poet Maya 14 Angelou, writer Toni Morrison, singer Alicia Keys, attorney Star Jones, financial expert Mellody Hobson, comedian/actress 15 16 Wanda Sykes, actress Jada Pinkett-Smith, congresswoman Eddie 17 Bernice Johnson, former U.S. Secretary of Energy Hazel O'Leary, 18 congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee, Cook County Recorder of Deeds 19 Karen Yarbrough, and CNN reporter Suzanne Malveaux; and

20 WHEREAS, Many members of the General Assembly and 21 legislative staff are members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, 22 Inc., including Senator Mattie Hunter, Senator Toi Hutchinson, HR1003 -2- LRB098 20747 GRL 57900 r
1 Representative Monique Davis, India Hammons, and Nia
2 Odeoti-Hassan, who serves as the Illinois State Connection
3 Coordinator in the Central Region under the leadership of
4 Regional Director Dr. Gisele M. Casanova; and

5 WHEREAS, The 2010-2014 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., 6 administration, under the leadership of attorney Carolyn House 7 Stewart, continues to fulfill the service imperative of the 8 founders with the theme, "Global Leadership Through Timeless 9 Service", and the "Collaboration, Advocacy, Registration, 10 Education and Stimulation (C.A.R.E.S.) Program Through Global 11 Leadership and Timeless Service"; and

12 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc.'s signature 13 program, the Emerging Young Leaders (EYL), will impact 12,000 14 girls in grades 6 through 8 by providing leadership 15 development, civic engagement, enhanced academic preparation, and character building; the program is implemented by all 90 16 17 AKA chapters of the Central Region, which consists of Illinois, Indiana, Missouri (St. Louis and Cape Girardeau), Minnesota, 18 Wisconsin, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Kentucky; young 19 20 women from the Illinois programs will be a part of the day at 21 the Capitol on May 14, 2014; and

22 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc.'s Central 23 Regional Conference was held in Chicago from March 27, 2014 HR1003 -3- LRB098 20747 GRL 57900 r
1 through March 30, 2014; its members painted the town "Pink and
2 Green" and added to the economic development of the Chicago by
3 spending many dollars; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha's storied history of proven leadership and extensive involvement in the world community through strategic partnerships evidence the sorority's potential to significantly contribute to the world community; and

9 WHEREAS, Leadership development is essential to the 10 vitality of the organization, and the sorority's continuing 11 requirements of academic excellence, shared values, and 12 dedication to the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha ensure a 13 continuous wellspring of quality leaders; therefore, be it

14 RESOLVED, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES ΒY THE OF THE 15 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we designate the date of May 14, 2014 as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day 16 17 in the State of Illinois in honor of Alpha Kappa Alpha 18 Sorority, Incorporated, and its work; and be it further

19 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 20 provided to the sorority for presentation to attorney Carolyn 21 House Stewart, International President; Dr. Gisele M. 22 Casanova, Central Regional Director; Kathy Walker-Steele, HR1003 -4- LRB098 20747 GRL 57900 r
Central Regional Director-Elect; Kiahna Davis, Central
Regional Representative to the International Connection
Committee; and attorney Leyser Hayes, International Chair of
the Connection Committee.