

SR0292 LRB096 12999 GRL 27137 r

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The nation of Iran has continued to pursue nuclear technology, even in the face of international condemnation and economic sanctions; and

WHEREAS, President Barack Obama has repeatedly expressed interest in using Iran's dependence on gasoline imports as a point of leverage in the dispute over Iran's nuclear ambitions; Iran imports approximately 40% of its refined petroleum, giving any petroleum sanctions a significant economic effect on the Iranian economy; and

WHEREAS, The President's authority to initiate these sanctions is ambiguous under current United States law, making such leverage hard to attain; and

WHEREAS, The Iran Refined Petroleum Sanctions Act (IRPSA), introduced in the United States Senate by Senators Evan Bayh (D-IN) and Jon Kyl (R-AZ) and in the United States House of Representatives by Representatives Howard Berman (D-CA) and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), would amend the Iran Sanctions Act of 1996 to authorize the President to impose sanctions on any entity that provides Iran with refined petroleum resources or engages in activity that could contribute to Iran's ability to import such resources; the Act also prevents such entities from

- doing business in the United States and prescribes more
- 2 powerful sanctions for violators of the Act; and
- 3 WHEREAS, IRPSA would have a great effect upon Iran, forcing
- 4 the nation to make a choice between suspending its nuclear
- 5 activities and beginning substantial dialogue or risk economic
- 6 ruin for its actions; therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL
- 8 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we urge Congress to
- 9 pass the Iran Refined Petroleum Sanctions Act in order to grant
- 10 the President the necessary powers to create petroleum
- 11 sanctions against Iran for its nuclear ambitions; and be it
- 12 further
- 13 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 14 presented to the Speaker and Minority Leader of the United
- 15 States House of Representatives, the Majority and Minority
- 16 Leaders of the United States Senate, and the members of the
- 17 Illinois congressional delegation.