

09600SJ0118 Enrolled

LRB096 21705 GRL 39304 r

1

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 118

2 WHEREAS, The Chicago - Kansas City Expressway (C-KC) 3 corridor through Illinois and Missouri forms a unified corridor 4 of commerce between 2 of the major commercial and tourism 5 centers in the Midwest; and

6 WHEREAS, The portion of the Chicago - Kansas City 7 Expressway corridor from Chicago to the Quad Cities, Galesburg, 8 Monmouth, Macomb, and Quincy, constitutes a major artery for 9 travel, commerce, and economic opportunity for a significant 10 portion of the State of Illinois; and

11 WHEREAS, It is appropriate that this highway corridor 12 through Illinois connecting to the corridor in the State of 13 Missouri be uniquely signed as the Chicago - Kansas City 14 Expressway (C-KC) to facilitate the movement of traffic; 15 therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL 17 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 18 CONCURRING HEREIN, that we designate Interstate 290 to 19 Interstate 88, Interstate 88 to Interstate 80, the portions of 20 Interstate 80 from Interstate 88 to Interstate 74, Interstate 21 74 to Galesburg, U.S. Route 34 to Monmouth, U.S. Route 67 to 22 Macomb, Illinois 336 to Interstate 172 at Quincy, Interstate 09600SJ0118 Enrolled -2- LRB096 21705 GRL 39304 r 1 172 to Interstate 72, and Interstate 72 to the crossing of the 2 Mississippi River at Hannibal, Missouri as the Illinois portion 3 of the Chicago - Kansas City Expressway and marked concurrently 4 with the existing route numbers as Illinois Route 110; and be 5 it further

6 RESOLVED, That the Illinois Department of Transportation 7 and the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority are requested to 8 erect, consistent with State and federal regulations, signs 9 displaying the approved C-KC logo and Illinois Route 110; and 10 be it further

11 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 12 delivered to the Secretary of the Illinois Department of 13 Transportation, the Director of the Missouri Department of 14 Transportation, the Executive Director of the Illinois State 15 Toll Highway Authority, and the Mayors of Chicago, the 16 Quad-Cities, Galesburg, Monmouth, Macomb, and Quincy.