

HR1041

LRB096 21732 KXB 39401 r

1

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The Robinson High School Maroons boys varsity 3 basketball team won the 2009-2010 Illinois High School 4 Association Class 2A State Basketball Championship; and

5 WHEREAS, The team ended the season on a 15-game win streak 6 to finish at 27-5, and attained a 13-1 record in the Apollo 7 Conference; and

8 WHEREAS, The team reached the championship game by virtue 9 of defeats over Newton, Flora, Tolono (Unity), Teutopolis, 10 Decatur St. Teresa, and Chicago Hales Franciscan in post-season 11 play; and

12 WHEREAS, Robinson defeated perennial Illinois high school 13 basketball powerhouse Peoria Manual 76-68 in overtime in the 14 championship game; and

15 WHEREAS, The Maroons shot an outstanding 82 percent from 16 the free-throw line throughout post-season play, this included 17 a clutch 18 for 20 performance from senior point guard Derek 18 Hannahs in the title game; and

19 WHEREAS, The Robinson High School coaches and 20 administrators also stress the importance of academic HR1041 -2- LRB096 21732 KXB 39401 r
excellence; collectively, the boys varsity basketball team
carries an exceptional Grade Point Average of 3.316, and all
seven senior members of the team will be attending colleges or
universities following graduation; and

5 WHEREAS, The student-athletes from the first boys 6 basketball State championship winning team are Derek Hannahs, 7 Zach Shipman, Austin Siler, Jimmy Stevens, Devan Dirks, Aaron 8 Siler, Cody Chamblin, Ben Jones, Alex Bruner, Meyers Leonard, 9 Warren Whithaus, Zach Danks, Andrew Schroeder, Eli Wright, and 10 Ryan McCray; and

11 WHEREAS, The IHSA Class 2A Boys Basketball State Champions 12 from Robinson were led by Head Coach Bob Coffman and Assistant 13 Coaches Les Wilson, Dave Holubek, and Dick Muston; the team was 14 additionally assisted by Athletic Trainer Scott Rawlings and 15 Manager Jasmyne Thomas; and

16 WHEREAS, The team enjoyed the season-long support of their 17 enthusiastic student section and fan base from Robinson and the 18 surrounding Crawford County area; they also boasted one of the 19 largest crowds at the State tournament at Carver Arena in 20 Peoria; and

WHEREAS, Superintendent Josh Quick, Principal Troy Hickey,
 Assistant Principal Janis Loughery, and Athletic Director

HR1041 -3- LRB096 21732 KXB 39401 r
1 Terry Roche provided the administrative support necessary to
2 make the 2009-2010 season for the Maroons possible; therefore,
3 be it

4 RESOLVED, ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 5 NINETY-SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 6 congratulate and applaud the 2009-2010 Robinson High School 7 Maroons boys varsity basketball team for their accomplishments 8 throughout the season; for their talent and class displayed on 9 and off the court, and for the excellent coaching staff that 10 led the team to the 2A State Championship; and be it further

11 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 12 presented to Robinson High School Athletic Director Terry 13 Roche, Head Coach Bob Coffman, Principal Troy Hickey, and the 14 entire Robinson High School boys basketball team and coaching 15 staff.