

SJ0050 LRB095 12000 NHT 35587 r

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

2 WHEREAS, The people of the State of Illinois were shocked 3 and saddened to learn of the 32 college students who were 4 tragically slain on the campus of Virginia Polytechnic 5 Institute and State University (commonly known as "Virginia 6 Tech") in Blacksburg, Virginia, on Monday, April 16, 2007; and

WHEREAS, The State of Illinois is home to over 180 public and private universities and colleges, which serve over 800,000 students in undergraduate and graduate programs; and

WHEREAS, The public and private universities and colleges of Illinois operate across the State in a wide range of circumstances, from urban buildings to rural campuses, and with differing levels of police and security resources; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING HEREIN, that there is created the Task Force to Prevent Campus Violence to examine the causes of campus violence and to develop recommendations to prevent incidents of campus violence, including, but not limited to, assault, sexual assault, hate crimes, and murder, on Illinois' college campuses; and be it further

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

1.3

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

- 1 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the 2 following members:
 - (1) the chairperson and minority spokesperson of the Senate Higher Education Committee;
 - (2) the chairperson and minority spokesperson of the House Higher Education Committee;
 - (3) 9 members of the Federation of Illinois Independent Colleges & Universities, one member representing a local law enforcement agency in a community where a public or private college or university is located, one member representing community colleges located in Cook County, and one member representing community colleges in counties other than Cook County, all appointed by the Governor; and
 - (4) the Chairperson of the Board of Higher Education, the Chairperson of the Illinois Community College Board, the President of Chicago State University, the President of Eastern Illinois University, the President of Governors State University, the President of Illinois Northeastern University, the President of Illinois University, the President of Northern Illinois University, President of Southern Illinois University, the President of the University of Illinois, the President of Western Illinois University, the Director of State Police, the Attorney General, and the Secretary of Human Services (or their designees); and be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That the chairperson of the Senate Higher
- 2 Education Committee and the chairperson of the House Higher
- 3 Education Committee shall serve as co-chairs of the Task Force;
- 4 and be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That the members of the Task Force shall serve
- 6 without compensation; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Board of Higher Education shall provide
- 8 such staff and resources as may be necessary for the Task Force
- 9 to perform its functions under this resolution; and be it
- 10 further
- 11 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall report its findings and
- 12 recommendations to the General Assembly on or before December
- 13 31, 2008, at which time the Task Force shall be dissolved; and
- 14 be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 16 delivered to the Governor, the Chairperson of the Board of
- 17 Higher Education, the Chairperson of the Illinois Community
- 18 College Board, the President of Chicago State University, the
- 19 President of Eastern Illinois University, the President of
- 20 Governors State University, the President of Illinois State
- 21 University, the President of Northeastern Illinois University,

- 1 the President of Northern Illinois University, the President of
- 2 Southern Illinois University, the President of the University
- of Illinois, the President of Western Illinois University, the
- 4 Director of State Police, the Attorney General, and the
- 5 Secretary of Human Services.