

HR1031 LRB095 20243 KXB 47027 r

of this evidence is proven; and

19

20

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION WHEREAS, DNA technology is increasingly vital to ensuring 2 3 accuracy and fairness in the criminal justice system, but is 4 not yet considered a routine tool for criminal identification 5 by law enforcement; and WHEREAS, Over 50,000 law enforcement investigations have 6 7 already been aided nationwide because of DNA matches made 8 through the FBI's Combined DNA Index System (CODIS), bringing 9 justice to victims and removing criminals from the streets; and 10 WHEREAS, The Innocence Project has used DNA in over 200 11 cases to exonerate persons who were wrongfully convicted of 12 crimes; and 13 WHEREAS, The State of Illinois and other states throughout the nation have significantly expanded their DNA programs to 14 include a growing number of convicted and/or arrested felons to 15 match against unsolved crimes; and 16 17 WHEREAS, The demand for DNA testing in both violent and 18 non-violent crimes has continued to increase as the reliability

WHEREAS, Many laboratories still maintain DNA backlogs of

- 1 six months or longer and are unable to meet the growing demand
- 2 for DNA testing despite funding commitments from state and
- 3 local governments; and
- WHEREAS, The Debbie Smith DNA backlog grant program has
- 5 permitted state and local governments an opportunity to begin
- 6 to maximize the full potential of forensic DNA through backlog
- 7 reduction, but much work remains to be done; therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 9 NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 10 strongly urge the United States Congress to reauthorize the
- 11 Debbie Smith DNA backlog grant program at current or increased
- 12 levels; and be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 14 delivered to the Majority Leader and Minority Leader of the
- United States Senate, the Speaker and Minority Leader of the
- 16 United States House of Representatives, and to each member of
- the Illinois congressional delegation.