

HR0098 LRB095 11183 KXB 31565 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

and

2 Illinois WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives are pleased to honor the Mustangs of St. Rita 4 of Cascia High School who won the Class 7A State Football 5 Championship on November 25, 2006; and 6 WHEREAS, The Championship game ended with a score of 35 to 7 21 in favor of St. Rita over Lake Zurich; The Mustangs won the 8 first three State playoff games with a combined score of 114 to

WHEREAS, St. Rita won the semi-final game in a thrilling 34 to 31 victory over Providence Catholic; St. Rita finished the 2006 season with an impressive record of 13-1; St. Rita had previously won a State championship 28 years earlier, in 1978; and

41 over O'Fallon, St. Charles North, and Morgan Park-Chicago;

WHEREAS, The Mustangs were encouraged and supported by President and Principal Reverend Thomas McCarthy, OSA, and Athletic Director Bob Conlon; the team was led by Varsity Head Coach Todd Kuska; Assistant Coaches Ray Bugal, Lance Kenzinger, John Nee, Bill Lynch, Kevin Carberry, J.J. Standring, Terry Quinn, Joe Urchak, and Dan Schaller; student managers are Bob Hanley, Brian Foran, Tom Qualter, and Andy Smialek; and

1 WHEREAS, The members of the Mustangs are Matthew Carney, DeOnté Hood, Ralph Gliwiak, Darieon Hood, Clifford Moore, 2 3 Steven Byrne, John Sullivan, Daniel Jilek, Sean Estand, Peter 4 Balsam, Brendan O'Dwyer, Michael Riordan, Jason Kafka, Earnest 5 Green, Lawrence Garrett, Stephen Atkinson, Stephen Flaherty, 6 Cornfield, Antwan Love, David Marciano, Daniel 7 Schumacher, Daniel Dispensa, D'Marcus Dullen, Robert 8 O'Connell, Alex Vitkausas, Randall Shannon, William O'Brien, 9 Steven McGowan, Abel Villarreal, John Rowan, Mark Omastiak, 10 Nicholas Oboikovitz, Alan Ross, Gerald Ponio, Jr., Christopher 11 Kocanda, Andy Wilson, Matthew Lostroscio, Martin Hopkins, John Crotty, Brian Popek, Jerome Ward, Kenneth Stoklosa, Matthew 12 13 Murphy, Sean Leslie, John O'Connor, James Fitzgibbon, James Sojka, Lenny Wheeler, Timothy Arundel, Thomas Harney III, Sean 14 15 Halloran, Rashad Spells, Thomas Chladek, Vincent Harrison, Thomas Bukowski, Luke Knibbs, Mozar Jerome, Matthew Munizzi, 16 Michael Mullen, Sean Gleason, William Slawson, 17 Patrick 18 O'Malley, Daniel Patrick, Jason Kazlauskas, Edward Carone, Louis Wojnicki, Edward Streit, Michael Martin, 19 20 Conrath, Jamie Lick, Mitchell Broderick, Daniel Harney, Kevin 21 Galeher, Daniel Smith, Marques Reed, Taylor Osborn, Melvin 22 Shaw, Daniel Platt, Drew McGowan, Matthew Quinn, 23 O'Neill, Thomas O'Connor, Rigoberto Gomez, Jr., 24 Higginbothan II, Darius Fleming, Erik Rickert, Michael Altman, 25 Alfonso Castillo, Terence Peter, Ryan Bischoff, and Elkin Smith

- 1 III; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The players and coaches of the St. Rita Mustangs
- 3 Football team truly deserve to be proud of their championship
- 4 season; therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 6 NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 7 congratulate the St. Rita of Cascia Mustangs Football team, the
- 8 faculty, staff, students, and alumni for this remarkable
- 9 football accomplishment; and be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 11 presented to Principal Reverend Thomas McCarthy, Athletic
- 12 Director Bob Conlon, and the coaches and players as an
- 13 expression of our esteem.