

HJ0044 LRB095 11713 KXB 34357 r

1 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, A small group of Highway Commissioners and Town
- 3 Clerks met in Watseka, Illinois on November 13, 1907; and
- 4 WHEREAS, From this first meeting came the Illinois State
- 5 Association of Highway Commissioners and Towns Clerks; and
- 6 WHEREAS, In 1937 the organization changed its name to the
- 7 Illinois Association of Township Officials; and
- 8 WHEREAS, In 1945 the association changed its by-laws
- 9 resulting in renaming the organization Township Officials of
- 10 Illinois (TOI); and
- 11 WHEREAS, Troy A. Kost became Secretary Treasurer of the
- organization in 1943, serving until 1979; George H. Miller was
- appointed as the Executive Director in 1979 serving until 1996;
- and Bryan E. Smith, appointed in 1996, currently serves as the
- 15 Association's Executive Director; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Through the last 100 years the Township Officials
- of Illinois has increased unity, pride and professionalism
- among its over 11,000 elected township officials; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through the association's educational and

- 1 training programs the efficiency, effectiveness and leadership
- of township officials and township government has made the
- 3 organization and township government more visible and a strong
- 4 voice among Illinoisans; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Throughout 2007 the Township Officials of
- 6 Illinois is celebrating the centennial anniversary of the
- association and continuing to help build strong townships, and
- 8 furthering the efficiency and responsiveness of township
- 9 government; therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 11 NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE
- 12 SENATE CONCURRING HEREIN, that we recognize the Township
- Officials of Illinois for 100 years of service through their
- 14 promotion of effective township government; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this preamble and
- resolution be presented to the Township Officials of Illinois,
- as a formal means of recognizing their invaluable contributions
- 18 to local government and this State.