
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
August 6, 2008 
 
 
To the Honorable Members of the  
Illinois House of Representatives 
95th General Assembly 
 

Pursuant to Article IV, Section 9(e) of the Illinois Constitution of 1970, I hereby return House Bill 
5285, entitled “AN ACT concerning regulation.”, with the following specific recommendations for 
change: 

 on page 1, line 14, by replacing “and 356z.11” with “356z.11, and 356z.12”; and 

 on page 2, line 8, by replacing “and 356z.11” with “356z.11, and 356z.12”; and 

 on page 3, line 3, by replacing “and 356z.11” with “356z.11, and 356z.12”; and 

 on page 3, line 20, by replacing “and 356z.11” with “356z.11, and 356z.12”; and 

on page 4, line 1, by replacing “Section 356z.11” with “Section 356z.11 and Section 
356z.12”; and 

on page 4, immediately below line 25, by inserting the following: 

“(215 ILCS 5/356z.12 new) 
 

Sec. 356z.12.  Dependent Coverage.  
(a) A group or individual policy of accident and health insurance or 

managed care plan that provides coverage for dependents and that is amended, 
delivered, issued or renewed after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 
the 95th General Assembly shall not terminate coverage or deny the election of 
coverage for an unmarried dependent by reason of the dependent’s age before 
the dependent’s 26th birthday.  

(b)  A policy or plan subject to this Section shall, upon amendment, 
delivery, issuance, or renewal, establish an initial enrollment period of not less 
than 90 days during which an insured may make a written election for coverage 
of an unmarried person as a dependent under this Section.  After the initial 
enrollment period, enrollment by a dependent pursuant to this Section shall be 
consistent with the enrollment terms of the plan or policy. 



 
 
 
 
(c)  A policy or plan subject to this Section shall allow for dependent 

coverage during the annual open enrollment date or the annual renewal date if 
the dependent, as of the date on which the insured elects dependent coverage 
under this subsection, has: 

(1) a period of continuous creditable coverage of 90 days or 
more; and 

(2) not been without creditable coverage for more than 63 days. 
An insured may elect coverage for a dependent who does not meet the 
continuous creditable coverage requirements of this subsection (c) and that 
dependent shall not be denied coverage due to age.  

For purposes of this subsection (c), “creditable coverage” shall have the 
meaning provided under subsection (C)(1) of Section 20 of the Illinois Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. 

(d) Military Personnel. A group or individual policy of accident and health 
insurance or managed care plan that provides coverage for dependents and that 
is amended, delivered, issued or renewed after the effective date of this 
amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly shall not terminate coverage or 
deny the election of coverage for an unmarried dependent by reason of the 
dependent’s age before the dependent’s 30th birthday if the dependent (i) is an 
Illinois resident, (ii) served as a member of the active or reserve components of 
any of the branches of the Armed Forces of the United States, and (iii) has 
received a release or discharge other than a dishonorable discharge. To be 
eligible for coverage under this subsection (d), the eligible dependent shall 
submit to the insurer a form approved by the Illinois Department of Veterans 
Affairs stating the date on which the dependent was released from service. 

(e) Calculation of the cost of coverage provided to an unmarried 
dependent under this Section shall be identical. 

(f) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit an employer from requiring an 
employee to pay all or part of the cost of coverage provided under this Section. 

(g) No exclusions or limitations may be applied to coverage elected 
pursuant to this Section that do not apply to all dependents covered under the 
policy. 

(h) A policy or plan subject to this Section shall not condition eligibility 
for dependent coverage provided pursuant to this Section on enrollment in any 
educational institution.  

(i) Notice regarding coverage for a dependent as provided pursuant to 
this Section shall be provided to an insured by the insurer: 

 (1) upon application or enrollment; 
 (2) in the certificate of coverage or equivalent document 
prepared for an insured and delivered on or about the date on which the 
coverage commences; and 
 (3) in a notice delivered to an insured on a semi-annual basis.”; 
and   

on page 5, line 10, by replacing “356z.11” with “356z.11, 356z.12”; and 

on page 10, line 7, by replacing “356z.11” with “356z.11, 356z.12”. 



With these changes, House Bill 5285 will have my approval. I respectfully request your 
concurrence.   
 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
ROD R. BLAGOJEVICH 
Governor 
 
 


