13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

1 AN ACT concerning State government.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

- Section 1. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Trade and Tourism Study Commission Act.
- 6 Section 5. Commission established.
- 7 (a) The Trade and Tourism Study Commission is established 8 to examine and evaluate the State's trade and tourism 9 promotion. The Commission shall consist of the following 10 members:
- 11 (1) Four members of the Senate, appointed 2 each by the 12 President and Minority Leader of the Senate.
 - (2) Four members of the House of Representatives, appointed 2 each by the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives.
 - (3) Four representatives of Illinois trade and tourism organizations, appointed by the Governor. One of these members must represent the International Visitors Center of Chicago. The organizations represented by the Governor's appointees must represent the State's geographic diversity.
- 22 (b) Each member shall serve at the pleasure of the member's 23 appointing authority, and a vacancy on the Commission shall be

- filled by the original appointing authority. The Commission 1
- 2 shall annually select a chairperson from among its members and
- 3 shall meet as frequently as necessary at the call of the
- chairperson. Members shall not receive compensation but shall 4
- 5 be reimbursed for expenses from appropriations for that
- 6 purpose.
- 7 (c) The Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity
- shall be responsible for providing the Commission with staff 8
- and administrative assistance. 9
- 10 Section 10. Report. The commission shall study the State's
- 11 various programs and expenditures for the promotion and support
- 12 of Illinois trade and tourism at the State, regional, national,
- and international levels, examining their operations and 1.3
- 14 evaluating their efficacy.
- 15 The Commission shall report its findings and
- 16 recommendations for change to the Governor and General Assembly
- by January 1, 2009 and annually thereafter. 17