

SR0509

1

LRB094 15060 RAS 50205 r

SENATE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The Chicago White Sox, owned by Jerry Reinsdorf, 3 won the 2005 Major League Baseball World Series Championship on 4 October 27, 2005 with a 1-0 victory over the Houston Astros in 5 game four, sweeping the series; and

6 WHEREAS, The World Series MVP, Jermaine Dye, singled home 7 the only run of game four, while pitcher, Freddy Garcia, and 8 relievers, Cliff Politte, Neal Cotts, and rookie closer, Bobby 9 Jenks, combined on a five-hit shutout and shortstop, Juan 10 Uribe, made two remarkable fielding plays to end the game, 11 capturing the 2005 World Series trophy; and

12 WHEREAS, During the playoffs, the Chicago White Sox went on 13 one of the most dominant playoff runs in baseball history; the 14 White Sox went 11-1 in the postseason, beating the Boston Red 15 Sox, the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, and the Houston Astros, 16 as their starting pitchers gave them at least seven innings in 17 eleven of the twelve games; and

18 WHEREAS, The Chicago White Sox, led by manager, Ozzie 19 Guillen, amassed an American League best ninety-nine wins 20 during the regular season with strong pitching, flawless 21 defense, and clubhouse togetherness; and

22 WHEREAS, The Chicago White Sox reside on the South Side of 23 Chicago and play at US Cellular Field, once known as the new 24 Comiskey Park, which is located directly across the street from 25 old Comiskey Park where the White Sox played from 1910 until 26 1990; and

27 WHEREAS, The Chicago White Sox have earned the title of 28 World Champions for the first time since 1917 when the team 29 defeated the New York Giants four games to two; and SR0509 -2- LRB094 15060 RAS 50205 r WHEREAS, The Chicago White Sox had not made the trip to the World Series since 1959, when the Sox played the Los Angeles Dodgers in the last year that the city of Chicago and the State of Illinois hosted a Major League Baseball World Series; and

5 WHEREAS, The Chicago White Sox, during the regular season 6 and playoff run, brought much excitement and great joy to not 7 just Chicago, but to all of Illinois; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL 8 9 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we recognize and 10 applaud the 2005 Chicago White Sox for their accomplishments during the 2005 season, the talent and teamwork they displayed 11 on the field, their excellence and humility off the field, the 12 outstanding coaching staff leading the team, and the brilliant 13 14 ownership and management that crafted and built the 2005 World 15 Series Champion Chicago White Sox; and be it further

16 RESOLVED, That we acknowledge and thank Owner and Chairman 17 Jerry Reinsdorf, General Manager Ken Williams, Manager Ozzie Guillen, the Chicago White Sox players: Mark Buehrle, Freddy 18 Garcia, Jose Contreras, Jon Garland, Orlando Hernandez, Neal 19 20 Cotts, Cliff Politte, Dustin Hermanson, Damaso Marte, Luis Vizcaino, Bobby Jenks, A.J. Pierzynski, Chris Widger, Geoff 21 Blum, Joe Crede, Willie Harris, Tadahito Iguchi, Paul Konerko, 22 23 Frank Thomas, Pablo Ozuna, Juan Uribe, Jermaine Dye, Timo 24 Perez, Scott Podsednik, Aaron Rowand, and all of the other 25 players, coaches, and staff for their hard work this season and for bringing the World Series title back to Chicago; and be it 26 27 further

28 RESOLVED, That we declare November 2, 2005 as Chicago White
29 Sox Day in the Illinois Senate; and be it further

30 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 31 presented to the Reinsdorf family, Chicago White Sox General SR0509 -3- LRB094 15060 RAS 50205 r 1 Manager Ken Williams, Manager Ozzie Guillen, and the entire

2 Chicago White Sox organization.