

SJ0043

1

LRB094 12103 HSS 45387 r

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, It is the purpose of the Council of State 3 Governments to assist all three branches of government of 4 member states in the pursuit of excellence in state government 5 through access to information and research, opportunities for 6 networking and exchange of innovative ideas, and leadership 7 training; and

8 WHEREAS, The Midwestern Legislative Conference (MLC) is a 9 non-partisan regional association of state legislatures 10 representing eleven Midwestern states, as well as the Canadian 11 provinces of Manitoba, Ontario, and Saskatchewan; and

12 WHEREAS, Pursuant to the rotation of host states among the 13 eleven member states, the State of Illinois and the City of 14 Chicago will host the annual meeting of the Midwestern 15 Legislative Conference August 27 to 30, 2006; and

16 WHEREAS, The incoming Chair of the MLC for the 2005-2006 17 year is the distinguished Illinois State Senator Donne E. 18 Trotter; and

19 WHEREAS, The City of Chicago, with its great cultural 20 wealth, vast diversity, and prominence as a center of 21 conventions and tourism, offers an ideal setting to host this 22 prestigious event; and

23 WHEREAS, Both the State of Illinois and the City of Chicago 24 will benefit from the financial activity and distinction 25 associated with hosting such an event; and

26 WHEREAS, The development and execution of a succinct plan 27 to host the annual meeting successfully requires an extensive 28 logistical and well-organized effort; and SJ0043 -2- LRB094 12103 HSS 45387 r WHEREAS, The General Assembly of the State of Illinois recognizes the need to create a special committee to organize and execute such a plan to meet the high standards set by previous host states; therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL 6 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 7 CONCURRING HEREIN, that there is created a Host Committee for 8 the MLC Annual Meeting to be held in Chicago in 2006; and be it 9 further

10 RESOLVED, That the Host Committee shall consist of two members of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate, 11 12 two members of the Senate appointed by the Minority Leader of 13 the Senate, two members of the House of Representatives 14 appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and 15 two members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives; each 16 17 appointing authority shall designate one of his or her 18 appointees as one of four co-chairs; and be it further

19 RESOLVED, That the co-chairs may appoint additional 20 members to serve on the Host Committee and may request the 21 assistance of the Legislative Research Unit and other 22 legislative staff; and be it further

RESOLVED, That members of the Host Committee shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for their reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties from funds available for that purpose; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Host Committee shall, in conjunction with the MLC officers and staff, formulate and execute a plan to provide for the procedures and activities required to host a successful annual meeting; and be it further 1 RESOLVED, That the Host Committee shall undertake both 2 public and private sector fundraising initiatives to support or 3 defray the costs associated with the annual meeting; and be it 4 further

5 RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution shall be 6 distributed to the President of the Senate, the Minority Leader 7 of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the 8 Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, and the 9 Executive Directors of the Legislative Support Service 10 Agencies.