

HR1075

LRB094 19967 HSS 57361 r

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The Winnebago High School cross country teams 3 accomplished a feat that has only been done three other times 4 in the State of Illinois, when both the boys and girls teams 5 won their respective IHSA Class A 2005 State Championships last 6 fall; and

7 WHEREAS, This is the eighth State title for the girls team, a State record; they tallied 58 points, which is the lowest 8 9 Class A score ever, another State record; they beat the second 10 place team by 56 points; the seventh runner from Winnebago was better than all of the other teams' fifth runners; Hayley 11 Thomas (seventh place) was the highest ever freshman finisher 12 from Winnebago; this the 18th straight year that the girls have 13 14 qualified for State, also a State record; and

15 WHEREAS, This is the third State title for the boys team; 16 they beat the second place finisher by 64 points; Jeremy 17 Stevens broke the Class A State record with a time of 14:18; 18 his time was faster than any of the Class AA boys; the sixth 19 runner from Winnebago was better than every other teams' fifth 20 runner, but one; and

21 WHEREAS, This is only the fourth time in Illinois cross 22 country history that the same school has won both the boys and 23 girls races; it is the second time that Winnebago has done it; 24 it is the first time ever that the same school has won both 25 team titles and had an individual State champion (Jeremy 26 Stevens); and

WHEREAS, The members of the girls team are Hayley Thomas,
Tracy Lotter, Audra Carlson, Lauren Thomas, Rachael Gortowski,
Heather Melin, Meg Skaggs, Megan Waggoner, Isabella Benassi,
Kelsey Fay, Jamie Johnson, and Gina Bielskis; and

1

HR1075 -2- LRB094 19967 HSS 57361 r
WHEREAS, The members of the boys team are Jeremy Stevens,
Trenton Tedrick, Zach Riley, Nick Newcomer, Matt Clinite, Sean
Carmody, Jake Johnson, Emmet Dingle, Aaron Brown, Gene Fuller,
Louis Boeke, Keith Gortowski, Kyle Allen, Graham Johnson,
Jeremy Schooler, Taylor Riley, Nathaniel Keating, Jacob
Anderson, and Zach Downs; and

7 WHEREAS, The teams are lead by coaches Joseph Erb and Janet
8 Erb and assistant coach Bruce Johnson; therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 10 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 11 we congratulate members of the Winnebago High School boys and 12 girls cross country teams on winning their respective IHSA 13 Class A Cross Country Championships for 2005; and be it further

14 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 15 presented to each of the members of the cross country teams and 16 the coaches as an expression of our esteem.