

LRB094 16973 HSS 52253 r

HR0807

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the 2 State of Illinois wish to congratulate the Newton Community 3 4 High School Eagles on their outstanding and memorable 2005 football season; and 5 WHEREAS, The Newton Eagles finished the season with an 6 7 impressive 12-2 record that culminated in their fourth Apollo 8 Conference title in the last eight years and their first-ever 9 Illinois High School Association (IHSA) State Championship 10 game played on Friday November 25, 2005, at Memorial Stadium on the campus of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; 11 12 and 13 WHEREAS, The Newton Eagles ended the season as Class 4A 14 runners-up after defeating the Effingham Flaming Hearts, Breese Central Cougars, Anna-Jonesboro Wildcats, and the 15 16 Mahomet-Seymour Bulldogs to advance to the championship game; 17 and WHEREAS, The Newton Eagles were led by head coach Bob 18 Horst; assistant coaches Jason Fulton, Doug Mammoser, Kent 19 Schafer, Todd Short, John Stone, and Andy Underwood; and team 20 21 trainers Jim Nave and Michael Parker; and 22 WHEREAS, Coach Horst, who has been inducted into the 23 Illinois Football Coaches Hall of Fame and is the winningest 24 coach in NCHS history, was named the 2005 Apollo Conference 25 Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career; and 26 WHEREAS, The Eagles had ten players named All Conference: 27 Clay Britton, Stephen Frichtl, William Hoffeditz, Doug Klier, Alex Koebele, Patrick Mendenhall, Kyle Pittman, Trevor Scott, 28 29 Jake Semple, and Levi Richards; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Levi Richards and Jake Semple were named All
- 2 State; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Doug Klier, Levi Richards, Jake Semple, and
- 4 William Hoffeditz were named Academic All State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Newton Eagles football team was rounded out
- 6 with Shawn Manning, Eric Mammoser, Nick Mammoser, Adam French,
- Will May, Matt O'Dell, Mitch Addis, Ryan Britton, Cody Drake,
- 8 Sean Martin, Brian Bierman, Eric Schackmann, Mark Semple, Joe
- 9 Cummins, Reid Ackerman, Eric Calvert, Chris Houser, Joe
- 10 Frichtl, Nathan Kistner, Jordan Pitcher, Clay Curtright,
- 11 Reuben Stence, Tyler Schackmann, Seth Slunaker, Brian
- 12 Fehrenbacher, Austin Wyatt, Kyle Bergbower, Joe Stephenson,
- 13 Trevor Gray, Ryan Probst, Daniel Lewis, Michael Benefiel, Cody
- 14 Allen, Doug Brooks, Todd Bierman, Brandon Collins, Adam
- 15 Schafer, Corey Hahn, and Levi Ashcraft; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The team managers consisted of Joe Fehrenbacher,
- 17 Austin Hunsaker, Scott Mammoser, Ty May, Connor Niebrugge, Mark
- 0'Dell, Jared Wagner, and Gabe Fulton; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The Eagles' success came as a result of a true
- 20 team effort; they played with intensity, excelled in the
- 21 fundamentals of the game, and above all, were well coached and
- 22 well disciplined; and
- WHEREAS, The team's season was outstanding, and the players
- were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans,
- and the entire community as they made all of Jasper County
- 26 proud; therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- we congratulate Coach Bob Horst and the entire Newton Community
- 30 High School Eagles football team on their tremendous

9

- 1 accomplishments during the 2005 season and their runner-up
- 2 finish in the IHSA Class 4A State Football Championship game;
- 3 and be it further

RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 4 5 presented to Superintendent Wayne Savageau, Principal Ron 6 Alburtus, Athletic Director Mike Hartrich, Coach Bob Horst, and 7 the entire Newton Eagles State runner-up football team as an expression of our esteem with best wishes for continued success 8 in the future.