

HR0485 LRB094 12198 CSA 46522 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Illinois wrestling team won 2 3 their first Big Ten Tournament Championship team title since 1952 in Iowa City on March 6, 2005; and 4 WHEREAS, The wrestling team set a school record for most 5 wins in a season; and 6 7 WHEREAS, The wrestling team won the Midland Team Title for 8 a second consecutive year, finished second in the National Team Duals, and won the Big Ten regular season title, but went one 9 step further with the conference championship at the Big Ten 10 Tournament with a final score of 130 points; and 11 12 WHEREAS, Illinois' 130 points also tie the school record 13 for the Big Ten Championship; and 14 WHEREAS, University of Illinois head wrestling Coach Mark 15 Johnson was named the 2005 Big Ten Coach of the Year, his second time to win the award; and 16 17 WHEREAS, During Coach Johnson's 13-year tenure Illinois, the Illini have finished in the Top-10 on nine 18 occasions and finished in sixth place in 2005; and 19 20 WHEREAS, Illini wrestler Alex Tirapelle won his second Big 21 Ten title and Pete Friedl won his first; and 22 WHEREAS, Five Illini wrestlers became All-Americans; and

23 WHEREAS, Winning the title shows the hard work and 24 dedication that the team members and Head Coach Johnson and 25 Assistant Coaches Jim Heffernan and Carl Perry have given to 26 the program; therefore, be it

- RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
 we congratulate the University of Illinois wrestling coaches
 and team members on their Big Ten Tournament Championship team
 title and wish them continued success in the future; and be it
 further
- RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the University of Illinois wrestling coaches and team members as an expression of our admiration and esteem.