

HR0458

1

LRB094 12299 HSS 46791 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and 3 Museum was dedicated on April 19, 2005, in Springfield to honor 4 America's 16th President; and

5 WHEREAS, The Library and Museum will serve as a popular 6 tourist attraction, drawing people from throughout the country 7 to learn about the extraordinary life of Abraham Lincoln; and

8 WHEREAS, Illinois is known as the Land of Lincoln because 9 of Lincoln's historical ties to several areas throughout 10 Illinois; and

11 WHEREAS, Tourism is vital to the economic health and 12 stability of Central and Southern Illinois; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Illinois congressional delegation 13 14 have introduced legislation to create the Abraham Lincoln 15 National Heritage Area consisting of the counties of: Adams, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Coles, 16 Cumberland, Dewitt, Douglas, Edgar, Fayette, Fulton, Greene, 17 Hancock, Henderson, Jersey, Knox, Lasalle, Logan, McLean, 18 Macoupin, Madison, Mason, 19 McDonough, Macon, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Sangamon, 20 Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Tazewell, Vermillion, Warren, and 21 22 Woodford; and

23 WHEREAS, The creation of an Abraham Lincoln National 24 Heritage Area would give these counties access to federal 25 funding to build and improve recreational and educational sites 26 related to Abraham Lincoln; therefore, be it

27 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 28 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 29 we urge Congress and the President of the United States to HR0458 -2- LRB094 12299 HSS 46791 r 1 create the Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area; and be it 2 further

3 RESOLVED, That copies of the resolution be sent to the 4 President of the United States and to each member of the 5 Illinois congressional delegation.